We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you fancy something different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
newcastle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Stay here if you fancy something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is situated close to Amsterdam Zuid train station which is under 10 mins. by rail from Schipol airport so a great spot particularly if you are arriving late in the day. The only downside is it is in a quiet business/residential area, which lacks places to eat close by, but the hotel does good sushi etc. The area is very quiet at night, though there is a nice bar near the train station you can pop in on the way to the hotel. 10 mins or so to the Museums - get an all day pass on the tram. The staff are very helpful and welcoming, they seem to really enjoy their jobs. The hotel is unusual in design, checking in, eating and room design, a big change from the norm. Huge comfortable bed, though the room layout may seem a bit strange, I thought it great, but my wife took some time to get used to it. Best to describe it as a adults only hotel unless parents get to the remote control fast! A bit out of the way, but a great experience. Will stay again - a great find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    1,139
    235
    67
    38
See reviews for
160
1,634
289
690
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Although the hotel is not in the city center, it's very well connected: just a pleasant 5 minute walk from the train station (which is just a 6 minute train ride away from the airport), and tram line 5 stops in front of the hotel, bringing you to the center of Amsterdam in 15 minutes, with strategical stops along its route. All in all very convenient.
We were warmly welcomed by the staff, going out of their way to accommodate us, and show us around. The lounge area is pleasant, colorful, beautifully decorated, what a treat to be able to sample highlights of modern design, to actually use a piece of furniture you normally just know from a picture! The room is identical to other citizenM rooms. Everything functions beautifully, shower and bed are very comfortable, I love the black out shades, because of serious jet-lag sleeping during daytime was a must for us...! My 12-year old enjoyed the mood lighting to the max. My only complaint would be the tiny size of the in-room safe. I really appreciated the free WiFi and the ease of not needing a password at all - WiFi worked flawless in our room as well as in the lounge area.
Breakfast was not exceptional but good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

DIY style management. Efficient room design. Reasonable room rate for its great location. I'd definitely choose this hotel. It's close to the plaza, and we only had to walk about 200 meters before getting indoor. You don't have to worry about safety even if you come back at midnight. The hotel itself is quite new and offers really a brand new hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
55 hotel reviews
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is a good price comparably for other rooms we looked at in Amsterdam and the location is about two blocks from the train station and right near one of the stops on the tram line which we found easy to use. The self check-in was okay (it saves on cost) and they had a nice array of sandwiches and drinks that could be purchased which meshed with my vegan diet. The hotel is made of shipping container sized rooms literally stacked on top of each other.

But the room is the weirdest hotel room I've ever been in. I really didn't like spending any time in it. When you walk in you have to weave through the bathroom with a toilet and a shower each with a circular glass enclosure and a circular, tube-like sink. The bed is a king-sized bed at the back that literally fills the entire space with no room around the sides or the back. It felt like climbing into a loft. There is a very small writing stand and a table and other than that, just empty floor.

It felt like spreading out for the night in a corner of an unfinished warehouse. After showers in the morning it was muggy from the shower mist and I had to get out just for some air. You better be really comfortable with whoever you are staying with because there is absolutely no privacy. My wife enjoyed the weirdness of it. As for me, I'd rather spend a little more for a more typical room. I would give the room itself a 2 and it is the price, cleanliness and location which bring it up to a 3.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the manager, Andrew.This hotel is modern, unique and fun.It is however not close to the city centre.You need to take a tram (which is directly outside the hotel) for ± 18 mins to get into Dam square.We arrived at 11h40.The first staff member wanted to charge us extra to check into our room earlier than 14h00.Another staff member was then kind enough to allow us to check in earlier at no extra charge.The rooms are unique and everything works off remote control.This system, however stopped working from Friday afternoon to Sunday morning.We discussed this issue with the manager,Andrew, who was extremely apologetic and was kind enough to offer us a free night stay next time we are in Amsterdam.I would not recommend more than 1 person staying in the room, as cool as it is, it is extremely small.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the garden as oppossed to the 'city'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely design and atmosphere. The rooms aren't big. They are the width of a kingsize bed. It's not for those who need to have a suite size room with living/kitchen/double bathroom and bed. Citizen M balances this "problem" by offering a very large lounge area with couches and tables in the lobby. I enjoyed staying here, just dropping by in my room for a quick shower and then spend the evening in the living area, as you would do at home.

The shower is in a see-through tube, so if you are there with your partner, expect a small show. Toilet is also in a not-see-through tube, so don't eat mexican of your relationship will take a new turn the next day.

For those who like to go running, the Beatrix park is literally next door. It offers a 2 km lap around the park with very few people in your way. If you want to go for a longer tour you can run to the Vondel park which is a up north, but expect a lot of more runners. Or you can just run a few more laps.

Room Tip: Spend your evening in the comfy lounge downstairs, don't stay in your room all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed one night at the CitizenM hotel when my flight connections left me with an overnight in Amsterdam. The CitizenM hotel is a short, easy walk from the airport - no problem doing the walk with luggage. Check in/check out at the hotel was a breeze. I found the room small but comfortable. The quirky part is definitely the layout. The toilet and shower are separate stand alone 'cylinders' of opaque glass in the middle of the room. They are roomy, clean and functional but the placement right in the middle of the room is a bit of an adventure. Perfectly fine when alone but not a lot of privacy if you are sharing the room! You have been warned. The room is very quiet and the beds comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.