We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Which way do you lie on the mattresses?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bakewell
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Which way do you lie on the mattresses?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I think that we echo everything that Cliffey has written before me. It is refreshingly different in every respect and we enjoyed all 3 nights that we stayed there. It is a quite a long way out of the centre with only a few opportunities for eating and drinking close by. However, we got to grips with biking in and out very quickly and that made the location quite OK. The surrounding area is lovely and quiet and I am looking forward to trying the Citizen M when I am next in London. My only suggestion to anyone would be to "try it - you wont know what your missing until you do". This is a hotel which poses all sorts of questions that are very different to those that you usually ask yourself. Great

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    1,091
    223
    64
    38
See reviews for
149
1,566
277
655
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in May with my partner. Having read lots of reviews we knew what to expect but were still very surprised by how modern and friendly the place was. Staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay. Although the rooms were quite small, the HUGE bed and shower and toilet 'pods' in the room were laid out well and we still had plenty of room without being cramped. The bed was very comfortable, definitely needed after a long day wandering around this amazing city!
The tram stops directly outside and has good links to the rest of Amsterdam - very easy to get around.
The hotel is very unique. Lots of different artwork and furniture that makes it so original. The lobby area is like being in your own house and the free use of WiFi and Macs was great.
Overall, we had a great time staying at this hotel and only wished that we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a nice concept! It started with the very friendly staff that welcomed us. Checkin was very fast. The room was amazing. Very modern room that seemed small, but everything that we needed for the our 2 night stay was there. We really loved it. Also very close to the center of Amsterdam using the tram.
We will recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great design, good location, good food, nice staff. Clean, with free wifi and a crowded bar. The only downturn is the lack of enough furniture in the room to accommodate your luggage. The cost/benefit ratiio is very favorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at CitizenM for three nights in all as part of a cycle tour of Holland. Wow! The moment you walk through the door, you are struck by an overwhelming atmosphere of fun. The downstairs space is great and the staff fantastic, so much enthusiasm and nothing was too much trouble for them. After a long day on the bikes, the refreshingly unpredictable nature of the hotel certainly put the spring back in these old chickens.

The rooms are amazing/interesting/strange (in that order). So many decisions to be made, What colour lighting to have in the glass loo and shower, strategically placed in the middle of the room (not totally convinced by that one)? Which way to lie on the enormous bed, which was superbly comfortable? What temperature to have in the room? Whether to use the am or pm shower gel?

Breakfast was well presented and varied, with great coffee, again with superb service. I do have a slight question mark over the fact that everything, bar the plates, was plastic and disposable.

All in all, provided you know your other half intimately, CitizenM is fab, a fountain of youth. We are positively looking forward to another visit some time.

Go there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Easy check in/check out. Staff very friendly and helpful-not that you need too much help because its all so easy. The surrounding area is so quiet its lovely. Piece of cake to find off tram line No 5.
Free Wi-fi 24hr bar and cafe avaliable. Can not praise the hotel enough.

Room Tip: Personally I would not worry-as its so easy going it was quiet on all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Clean and modern concept unlike traditional hotels. Easy to find and convenient location, 15 minute tram ride to Dam Square or a 20Euro taxi ride. Very compact design which works however a couple of shelves would make a huge difference. A place that definately should be experienced and only then will you know if its for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.