We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was fantastic, very clean and friendly, the only bad thing was the price of things I know amsterdam is expensive anyway, but a tea and a latte was practically £7 every morning which was a let down. Everything else was fantastic staff were brilliant and so helpful would definitely stay again but take my own tea bags.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    1,092
    223
    64
    38
See reviews for
149
1,568
277
656
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Amazing hotel; very warm and friendly ambassadors! It was very nice to be there 2nd time. Silent, modern furnished, easy-access by train from the airport. Tram 5 goes to Central Station, just 1 minute walk to the Tram Stop! We have visited lots of hotels in Europe, our most favorite one is CitizenM. Our friends who came with us were very happy as well with their first visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Let's start with the bad :
Room could've been a tad warmer.
Remote wasn't as quick and responsive as I would've liked.
Don't think it was mentioned that city tax was going to be added, although still good value and should've expected it.

The good, however far outweighed the bad. Me and my girlfriend stayed here in the first week of Feb 2013 for 2 nights. From schipol airport, there was a 5 min train journey to Zuid station. The hotel is just around the corner from here. And dam central a further 10-15 tram journey, which are frequent and value for money as you can get an unlimited tram/bus/train pass for 48 hours for 12 euros. Some people might see the fact that it's not in dam central as a drawback, but we enjoyed the journey on the tram as we got to see much more of Amsterdam.

Now to the hotel... It was very quirky. Sleek and modern was the atmosphere. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. Ask one of them to give you a map and point out places to go and things to see. One place recommended to us was our favourite place to chill throughout the stay. The lobby area had food, televisions and sofas, study/creative areas and a computer section with iMacs which we used.

The room was compact. The toilet and shower pods were an interesting concept. The 2 different shower gels (one for am and pm) smelt amazing. I regret not buying them at the reception. There wasn't much storage, but was not necessary for a short stay. However the bed made us feel like dwarfs as it was a spacious 2m x 2m with warm covers. There are free movies on demand, of which 2 we watched. The remote pretty much dictated the room functions, mood lighting which was very cool, tv, temperature and the blinds. Would love one of these in my future home but just a bit more responsive.

Overall I would say this is a perfect short stop headrest for couples, putting into consideration the price and ambience etc. Would take a great offer in another hotel to stop me staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My stay was a complete disaster. The room was cold (they pretended that was 21.3, but my Suunto watch doesn't lie, it was 19). The shower didn't work. They made lots of mistakes in the invoice, we had to change the keys 4 times, nobody helped in the moving when we change rooms (finally) ... A complete disaster ...
The shower doesn't work if the door is not closed, therefore the mechanism breaks ... Also, it is not possible to stop the air condition because you cannot open the window ...
Only part of the service is kind, most of them are lofty and unprofessional ...

Room Tip: Don't be blinded with the nice entrance and the modern style ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi "EsteveAlmirall",

Your satisfaction is our goal and feel as disappointed as you, when we fall short, I apologise for the issues you had during your last stay.

Have welcomed you over a few times, I assume you are already familiar with our hotel and that we are open to communicate and improve ourselves. There is no excuse when the room temperature doesn't respond to your selection and desire or if the shower doesn't work as expected – they both must work at all times, flawless. I'm addressing these and the other issues you mentioned with our team to avoid from happening again.

citizenM was created to offer you king sized beds at affordable rates, with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and free inspiration.

If there is anything else we can do to improve your future stays, feel free contacting us directly.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and I went here in September last year and had a great time, both of us had been to Amsterdam several times before and this hotel looked good value for money.

The staff were brilliant, they couldn't have been more friendly if they tried. The hotel design was modern and sleek, as were the rooms. I was slightly surprised about the odd moans on here about the room sizes, especially given there are photos of the rooms on the website and the chain clearly uses the modern compact design features as a selling point. The beds were massive and comfy, not a great deal of storage but for a short break adequate. It was great fun to play with all the different room features, lighting, blinds etc via the mood pad / remote, our only issue would be that ours stopped charger broke for ours so it stopped working, but I spoke to reception and they sorted it straight away for us. The shower and toilet in the room (and I mean LITERALLY in the room!) was very nice and an entertaining feature for us, however if your traveling with a friend and are particularly shy or have food poisoning you may not be keen on it, even if you use the sheer room dividing curtain! Frankly we couldn't care less but I guess it's down to individual tastes.

The hotel's located in the business district, about 15 minutes from the center on the tram. We didn't find this an issue at all, trams were cheap and frequent and it was quite fun to navigate our way around and see the sights on the way in to town.

All in all a very pleasant stay and I would stay here again and definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is highly recommended. Its charm, lies in the fact that is very modern and very different to the many tired and shabby hotels you see everywhere. They have judged everything perfectly. I can't think of a single thing I'd want that they didn't have. Breakfast is self service and more than adequate. It's on the No 5 tram line and less than 15 minutes into Central Amsterdam. Also very near Amsterdam Zuid station which is very convenient for the airport. The bottom line is, - I'd go back any time and I'd recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

i was staying at another hotel. woke up at 2100 hrs, and wanted somewhere nice to eat at night. walked towards Amstrrdam City Center North thru the main train station South. Citizen M is just North of the train station a few blocks.

It looked very nice...warm, friendly and quite a few patrons. Lots of computers, books, and comfortable lounging spots. Colours are red and black and white. i liked the music: The young staff said it was indie pop/lounge music....it is their own playlist.

The staff is very friendly and cosmopoloitan....Jamaica, Yugoslavia, Greece, U.S., Spain, Portugal, etc. They spoke very good English, which is nice as my sister is our only family member that speaks Dutch.

A nice selection of packaged foods: Sushi, pasta, salad, fruit, beer, wine, cider, full bar, other drinks, sandwiches, soup, pastries, yogurt, etc. Wifi and computers. Quite a few patrons on a Thursday night.

Pricing was normal for Western Europe: 25€ for lasagna, soup, fruit and a beer (cider).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.