We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super COOL hotel for overnight stay in transit @ schipol airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Super COOL hotel for overnight stay in transit @ schipol airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is very unique and has the exotic touch of Amsterdam. It's by no means a place you want to stay if you are vacationing in Amsterdam with your family. It's perfect for one person or a couple who are in transit or want to stay in Amsterdam for a few days. Here is what I loved about it:
- It's right next to the run way and so you can see the planes take off and move about. It's just the coolest view to have
- everything is soundproof so you can't here anything
- everything is hi-tech and the lighting is super exotic
- the shower area is just exposed, a cylindrical glass that opens and closes with disco colors. it looks like the beaming center from star trek, so as I said you either have to be alone or with your partner. A pole would make it a strip club :) a real Amsterdam signature lol.
-Internet is free and the tv has so many movie channel options
- the self service food court was super cool
- loved the modern design and decoratios
- the staff were so nice and helpful
-overall I have one word "COOL"
I would have liked the rooms to be a tiny bit larger, but it's Europe so I was ok with it. Would go there again for sure. In fact I heard there is a new branches openning in London and I can't wait to go and check it out.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,398
    908
    189
    55
    34
See reviews for
117
1323
231
546
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Definitely hotel with the style. Modern, fun concept, very comfortable mattress, I am still looking for one in Toronto, can't find anything similar..was even thinking of ordering one from them.. :)
Rooms, however are very tiny, but the way they laid everything out in the room gives you just enough space to walk between the shower cabin and the toilet to your bed. Toilet and shower cabin have tinted glass, but you can still see through, so if you have issues with privacy, you probably won't enjoy it much. It is located in business district, about 30 min walk from the downtown. It wasn't an issue for us, we came to see the city and enjoyed walking everywhere.
For those ones that don't like walking the is a streetcar stop just across from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wezembeek-Oppem, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice/design hotel. very good bed, nice concept. Very cool people at the recetion and bar . The room are wonderfull, I'll be back soon. 4 times there and it's the best for me in AMSTERDAM. A little far from the center of the city, but with the Line 5 of the tram, it's not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very nice hotel, excellent for a 1-2 days business trip, located close to the train station.
The hall is absolutely fantastic with a wonderful modern design and the personell is really kind and helpful.

The cons?
Rooms, could be a bit bigger, I know that in the Netherlands caravan are a kind of fashion, but the room may have been designed 50cm wider.
Breakfast, 10euros for a coffe, a juice and a scarce selection is really an high price
Restaurant / canteen, the self service idea with premade food is nice, but prices are high and the quality could be much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Heard great things about this hotel and wasn't disappointed. The innovative compact-yet-spacious concept of the rooms suited our trip perfectly. A great bar with lots of intimate corners in the lobby meant you could put your legs up after exploring the sights of this brilliant city while feeling like you were in your own space. This is one if the first hotels I have been too where the staff members are allowed to have their own personalities - meaning you deal with actual human beings rather than dealing with corporate automatons! The location of the hotel was pretty good, it felt good coming home to a quiet area even though you were only a few moments away from the city centre by tram. Will definitely stay here again next time we visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had already stayed a few years ago in this hotel and when I needed to travel back to Amsterdam with my family, I wanted to show to my wife and kids this very interesting hotel. Although the rooms are a bit like small cubicles, you do not feel claustrophobic as they are very nicely designed.

The shower and toilette cells are in the middle of the room. They are very intelligently designed and give no problems at all. Everything has been thought of from a very comfortable king size bed (with a TV attached nicely on the wall) to a safe box, room for putting your luggage (under the bed), enough power sockets etc. etc. Anything a modern traveler needs has been nicely put in the room.

You can choose from numerous films free of charge as well.

The staff at the front desk are also very friendly and helpful.

So I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who has an open mind for novelties and modern designs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I found this hotel to be very good value.. Very quick and easy self checkin/checkout. It had clean, nice looking and hightech rooms. It was close to RIA Conference centre, just about 5-10 minutes walk. Perfect for my needs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.