We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #35 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Super hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at the end of December 2012 and we were lovely surprised. Lovely staff, really helpful, really nice hotel, super deco, nice clean rooms!

But be prepared to share all your private life with your room mate!

A little bit fare away of the Central Station but you can take the tramway 5 which brings you easily without changes to museum place and city Center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    949
    194
    58
    34
See reviews for
125
1382
239
561
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I took my husband to Amsterdam for his 30th birthday and having never been before didnt know where to stay. I wanted somewhere a bit special that didnt cost a fortune! I was extremely happy with my choice to stay here!

Easy to get to from train station a 2 minute walk, right beside a tram stop/ bus stop so being slightly out the city centre wasn't a problem. We walked it into the main bit of town one day and it didnt take us long at all.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful and made the best French Martini I've ever had! Room was very comfortable, very clean and the bed is HUGE!!

Have been recommending the hotel to lots of people and will definitely return next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked this hotel on a whim after seeing the photos. It was really affordable (Christmas break) and so modern, quirky and fun. Everything about our booking was easy - from the online booking to welcome from the staff when we arrived. Its not the closest hotel to the centre but is really well connected with a No 5 tram stop nearby and the subway - and spending time on public transport gave us a really great overview of the city. I can't see any reason to stay anywhere else and am now waiting for the Paris one to open. The only downside was there is no kettle! I understand their reasoning that they have great barista services in the bar, but as a tea addict I like to enjoy a cup of tea in bed last thing at night and first thing in the morning and padding down in my nightie wasn't ideal!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for couple of days with wife. Simply saying, the hotel is designed to be unconventional in every single aspect and executed with truly quirky style. The toilet and shower design has got to be their signature and challenges your perception of a hotel. Good place to stay if you are looking for inspiration and/or rejuvenate your creative thinking. The incorporation of mood lighting and integrated room control is an excellent forward applications of technology.

Fundamentally, the hotel staff were very accommodating. Even though the location is slightly outside of the central city, the surroundings were very safe and convenient, with a tram station just a stone's throw away from the lobby.

If I were able to interpret this hotel as a car, citizenM is like a Spyker. Other hotels are more like a Toyota Corolla. Look it up in YouTube if you want to know what I mean.

Room Tip: take the one facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I spent 2 nights here. The most friendly service (thank you Sally and Panos!) Very good location. Situated right next to a tram stop and Station Zuid. From there you are 10 minutes away from the center and Schipol. I prefer it to being in the center as it is quieter.

The rooms are very fun. I have never had a more comfortable bed. Very clean. Maybe slightly small if you are sharing. Everywhere is modern and I would say it looks great.

The rates are very reasonable for what you get. Thank you for a great stay I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There are hostel type aspects to this hotel but it is not a cheap place to stay, and while the rooms are not large, they are comfortable and good to hang out in. The bed is huge and the shower/toilet privacy issues are not as bad as other reviewers suggest as they are curtained off from the sleeping area, but have v.little sound proofing. The rooms are pod-like and thoughtful in their design; there seems to be no storage space but look further and it's cleverly hidden - behind the mirror, under the sink, beneath the bed. The public areas are very comfortable and have a relaxed atmosphere; more like a modern hostel than a hotel - funky furniture, flat-screen TVs, glossy coffee table books on fashion and travel, mood-lit bar, free wi-fi, expensive beer; breakfast's extra but served by friendly staff. In fact all the staff are bright young people ready to help with the computer check-in, and helpful with any query.

The location is good in terms of access to transport and airport but if you like walking it's just about 15 minutes too far from the centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am a hotelier and just checked in this hotel. The rules and the way that they rule you is very rude. My company made the reservation and sent the credit card for payment, but they asked me to pay. If not they wont give you the kees. Come on we have 4 rooms which will stay for 1 week... Why didnt you warn my company if you need anything else. What if i didnt have the enough cash with me? Reservation team failed very bad!!!

They are like robot or like computer program. I think an artificiel intelligence software is managing this hotel. No soul. No feeling. Only rules. Like a military camp. If you try to complain they change the contact and start over...

About the rooms;
- No reception, no belboy, very small rooms only 14 sqm, - no water to drink, no tea or coffee, no minibar, no wardrobe, - you cannot access the window because of the bed, you have to be very talented to turn on the shower, you have to close it very hard otherwise it doesnt work, no slippers, no bathrobe, only shampoo. There was hair in the toilet!

Very big dissapointment. I will never stay in any other citizenm hotel. And i dont advise this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi "nogayhan75",

Reading your review it comes down that you didn't appreciate the way we dealt with a payment issue during check-in and that you disliked our hotel and concept, which I take the opportunity to respond.

When reservations are made online, a credit card is required to guarantee a reservation, it's clearly stated that rooms are not prepaid and guests must pay at check-in using own card. By contacting us or simply visiting our website, we offer an option to pre-pay all bookings online prior arriving the hotel in a secured way. Assuming that giving a credit card with your booking is a proof of payment is a very silly statement coming from a fellow hotelier.

As you mentioned, there is no traditional reception desk here, no bell-boy, piano man nor marble fountains. citizenM was not built for other hoteliers as most of them are trapped in the rules of gravity of the 90’s. Instead, we started with a clean paper sheet and designed a hotel for the modern traveller, those who has an eye on value and the other on luxury. Travellers in 2013 appreciate staying in a room that is smart in size, and technology, not interested in a huge outdated room with layers of curtains, unhygienic carpet and a trouser-press . Instead, we offer a comfy XL king-size bed covered with luxurious Egyptian cotton linen, power rain shower, free-fast-reliable Wi-Fi, free movies on demand, Skype phone rates, 24/7 food & beverage outlet, a lobby that is not a lobby, but living spaces where people lounge and work are features travellers are after in 2013.

I wish you fantastic experiences on your travels.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.