We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Cool hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Its a friendly, spacious, cool hotel. well worth the money!
Rooms were perfectly layed out and the canteen offered some good food

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,389
    897
    187
    55
    33
See reviews for
114
1314
229
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am only just getting to writing this review after about a year. I loved it! The rooms are relatively small but the bed is huge and really comfy. I was staying on my own so no worries with the rather open plan lay out. I loved the lighting system and the TV had loads of great movies etc. The bar and 24 how cafe downstairs was perfect. All in all stylish, fun and different. Also really convenient for getting to/from the airport on the tram- and getting into town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice designed lounge and room, friendly service, perfect price quality relationship, right location in nice and quiet neighborhood. Everything you need is available in a modern up to date fashionable way

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have to say my wife and I were both shocked entering our room as you are pretty much standing IN your shower upon entering the door. After you pass through the BATHROOM (shower, toilet and airplane size sink) you can now flop onto your bed as there isn't really anywhere else to go in the room. We had 4 luggage which couldn't be unpacked in this room is was so tiny and the water from your shower will tend to follow you back to the changing area..ON YOUR BED!
The location isn't overly great as you will need to take 10 minute train rides to get to the edge of the city centre and make sure you ask the train operator to sound out the stop you're at because it doesn't sound the way it's written on the maps and we missed the stop (right beside the hotel) three times when returing from the city centre.
I was hoping for a different expirience when we stayed and for the money spent I can't give the high ratings other have..one positive is the bar/eating area is open 24/7 in the main lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a differnt hotel if you want a good room..these are very Japense inspired..tiny, tinny, tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here prior to catching a cruise ship and it was really fun, the staff were young, friendly and very helpful, the rooms are small but perfectly formed! Everything operates from a TV style remote control pad. The shower was interesting and is situated in a perspex screen in middle of room, the toilet is also rather open. We loved staying here just for the 2 nights and was ideal for our needs. Food and drinks available 24/7 and free internet. There is a tram station outside and it takes about 10 minutes to get into city centre. The hotel arranged a car to take us to the port in the morning for the same price as a taxi.

Room Tip: City view is not really a city view, just offices across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a good stay until the shower flooded the floor, I walked across the floor to the toilet and slipped on the puddled water----and had to go for surgery for a broken back. I see others have previously complained about the shower and how it sprays out into the room. We cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: sounded wonderful. bathroom is not safe if shower is used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

By far the best hotel in terms of an electric mix of decor and design sensibilities. Location is quite convenient its located in a quiet neighborhood, starbucks is near by for your morning coffee, Amsterdam Zuid station is min walk, bus station is right behind the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly helpful ...The lobby is very impressive finest collection of award winning furniture and classics and iMac to help you plan your trip and surf :-)

Only thing is that you need to really comfortable with who you are sharing your room with as the shower and toilet are transparent cylindrical glass doors.

But overall experience was great , absolutely loved it will go there again !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.