We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for solo traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“good for solo traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting relatives have stayed in other citizen M's so knew what to expect, couldn't get shower to work, asked one of the cleaners to assist and they couldn't get it to work either and went off to get help never to be seen again, so the great unwashed went for breakfast! I informed the staff on check out re shower issue but they didn't really seem interested if I hadn't been in a rush I would have insisted on a price reduction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,397
    908
    189
    55
    33
See reviews for
118
1328
232
546
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had initially booked this place for a trip in May. Unfortunately I had to change the dates of my holiday - but the hotel switched my reservation for me, free of charge!

The location is amazing. We bought a 3 day unlimited GVB card that allowed us to use all public transport around the city. (http://en.gvb.nl/ovinmamsterdam/pages/bestdeal.aspx)

The hotel is RIGHT in front of a tram stop (line 5) so it was super easy to get into central Amsterdam. It takes about 25-30 mins to Centraal Station from the hotel. However, if biking is your style, it's super easy to bike around, to and from as well! We rented bikes on our second day from Mike's Bikes (http://www.mikesbiketoursamsterdam.com/?page_id=107) and biked around and out of Amsterdam, pretending to be locals. :)

The room was awesome; can't go wrong with a 2 meter by 2 meter sized amazingly comfortable bed! The toilet and shower have their own little pods in the room which made us giggle but the concept was pretty cool. The snack bar in the lobby was always open and stocked, even at 4am when we got in from partying :) In short, the room was perfect and clean and the location was great too. All this topped with free wireless internet, I'd come back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here for a night after attending a concert at the Heineken Music Hall. The hotel is located perfectly, in a quiet neighborhood, close to tram and train station, so you can be in central Amsterdam within 5-10 minutes.
The hotel set up is standard citizen m, with the big comfy bed and the shower and toilet 'pods', mood lighting, tv with movies etc.
The staff were attentive and immediately fulfilled our request to switch rooms as our original room was close to the elevators (noisy) and the air-conditioning didn't work.
The food in the little cafeteria is tasty (try the lasagna and the spaghetti Bolognese)!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

First off, I made the mistake of booking the one next to the airport, and showed up at the one downtown, the staff jumped through hoops to get my transfer over to the downtown one. There was little they could do because I booked through a third party, but after making a few calls to higher, the manager got it switched. I was very impressed because I had simply expressed briefly that I would rather be downtown, but it wasn't a big deal, and would like the address to the airport. The staff was thoughtful and more courteous in realizing this and made it happen. Similar events to this happened my entire stay, small events, but meant a lot they did big things for my small problems. Now, the hotel itself, amazing... To say the least. No wonder it has been voted trendiest last two years running. It was definitely an experience in Amsterdam, added to the awesome experience I had there. I wouldn't pass this one up.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but I'd get a lower floor room so you can see your car. Never know with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just returned from a three night break in Amsterdam with my husband and our two friends. We chose the Citizen M Amsterdam City after staying one night in their Glasgow Hotel and totally fell in love with the place and the casual concept. The Amsterdan Citizen did not let us down. Just one train stop from the airport to Amsterdam Zuid and then a short walk took us to our location. The staff are very bubbly and attentive and very knowledgeable about transport links. The number 5 tram stops just around the corner from Hotel and takes less than 10 minutes to city central. The rooms are fab and the shower is amazing. Our friends first impression was could this be a bit claustraphobic? but with great air con, mood lighting and the best bed and pillows ever they were soon converted, never mind the free movies on demand. The only small negative is that the Glasgow Hotel has a built in iPod dock in the room but that was me just presuming rather than reading what the Hotel provided. The bar is very welcoming and any food we had was always fresh and tasty. All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending Citizen M Amsterdam City as a great place to stay whilst exploring this facinating and vibrant City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

CitizenM is great value for money in Amsterdam and in a great location. VERY easy to get to from Schipol airport and with a tram stop almost outside the front door, easy to get to Central Amsterdam. The decor is quirky innovative and modern. The only downsides were that the handles on the shower were so tight that it took great strength to turn them. Also one of the electric outlets did not work making using a computer awkward.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abtwil, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I decided to take a good friend of mine to AMS for a weekend. One night at my fav. Hotel : Sheraton Schiphol and one night downtown. So, besides the location, all was good with the rooms, bar & shop/ kiosk. The rooms (mine) did not really smell fresh but otherwise the usual that you expect from Citizen M.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.