We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Place for Couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Place
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Fun Place for Couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This place is so cool! The lobby is well-decorated--modern and fun, and the staff if pretty friendly and helpful. Before choosing this hotel when I went, I looked at google maps and it said that it was an hour's walking time from the inner city and so I almost didn't chose the hotel, but the hotel is literally just around the corner from a train station and the tram runs right next to the hotel, so it is really about 10 minutes away from the innermost part of the city. The area around the hotel is very nice and comfortable. Not to mention the price is quite nice!
The bed was so big and cozy (I was sick while I was in Amsterdam, so I *definitely* appreciated that!). The crazy lights were really cool and it was fun playing with the different settings. They have a great selection of music, movies, etc to choose from--all free of charge! The one thing that I did not like about this place, though, was that the water in the shower did not get hot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    973
    202
    59
    36
See reviews for
128
1,413
247
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great place to stay in Amsterdam. Situated in the rapidly growing business district, it has EXCELLENT public transport links both to the centre of Amsterdam (tram outside) and Schipol Airport (train 3 minutes walk). The young staff are very friendly and knowledgable about this technologically advanced hotel. The rooms are bright and ultra modern. The public space has a small cafe, well stocked, and there are computers for general use. All films, to every taste are free on demand in the rooms. I gather that this change is spreading into the UK and we would definatly stay at Citizen M again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Citizen M for 5 nights. The hotel has been thoroughly thought through as a holistic concept. The lobby is full of designer books and furniture, it's very nice to relax in, they also have iMacs for surfing. There is a shop selling small products, snacks and food. For example; soap, sushi, sandwiches and beer. There are several novelty things like you can rate the hotel on their interactive board, which gives an overview of the standard on any particular day. Our room was very clean and modern with flat screen TV, and the ability to change the mood by setting the colour of the lighting in the room. Although the room is quite compact it's partly due to the large wall to wall bed. This may be an issue if you have bulky luggage.The only thing that could be awkward is that the toilet is integrated into the room in a kind of pod (not very sound proof), also the shower is like this. So you may prefer to use the public toilets in the lobby! Location-wise the hotel is right across the road from public transport, which is good because it is quite far to walk into main city center (approx 35 mins). There is a pretty tranquil park opposite, nice for walking in. If you are visiting on business at the trade center you will be right nearby. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing for a unique designer experience that won't break the bank, and for those that don't mind being staying a little further out from the tourist area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Really nice place to stay, the members of staff always greeting with smile. The rooms are unique!!! There is plenty of place to relax. The tram stop to the centre is just around the corner. I would definitely visit CitizenM again and I recommend it to everyone who is looking for a really nice and unique place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Really nice place to stay, the members of staff always greeting with smile. The rooms are unique!!! There is plenty of place to relax. The tram stop to the centre is just around the corner. I would definitely visit CitizenM again and I recommend it to everyone who is looking for a really nice and unique place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytham st annes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel really does what it says on the tin. It is immaculately clean, ultra modern and the bedrooms are amazing. One of the best ever break away without the kids we've had. Very easy to get into the centre of Amsterdam, 10 mins on the tram. I will definately be using the CitizenM Hotel Group in the future. 1ST CLASS!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is pretty close to the Airport by direct train. We arrived and quickly we checked-in, then we went out and took the Tram ( it's just around the corner) and went to the City Centre.
The breakfast was good, like a continental breakfast, with good coffee.
The room was absolutely clean and the light system and roll-up windows are fantastic.
I'm not surprised if we go back and stay again. A very modern hotel indeed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.