We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We were very comfortable.......toilet space rather small and not private!!!! However all facilities were good........the staff were very very attentive and pleasant. It was a good experience and would go back again.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,472
    955
    195
    58
    34
See reviews for
125
1,392
240
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My stay at the CitizenM was quite enjoyable. The room layout is very unique. they are small, but it does not feel small (at least to me it doesn't). the beds are big and very comfortable, the down comforter is very nice.
what i did not like was the location, which is a ways out of the town center, and if you plan on staying out till much past midnight you will need to get a cab back since the tram does stop running at night.
The other thing to be aware of is that when you deadbolt your door it does still open with the card, so make sure you put the "do not disturb" sign out if you do not want the maid walking in on you.
All in all it was a very nice stay and i will stay here again if I come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lent, the Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The CitizenM hotel Amsterdam is located very conveniently close to the Amsterdam Zuid/WTC trainstation. It takes just a few minutes to get downtown by either bus/train or bike. Big park across the road. Despite proximity to road/railway NO problems with sound, rooms are extremely well isolated.

Self check-in/check-out using the computers located in the lobby or with assistance of an employee is quick and effortless.

Rooms are something else! Superior use of space and efficiency, wonderful modern minimalistic design. Upon entry the room has a toilet unit and a rainshower both in a circular cubicle, a washstand and a chair. The second half of the room up to the full width window is taken up by the oversized king bed with excellent bedding and pillows. Storage available underneath the bed.

Large flat screen TV with moviechannels, moodlighting and remote control blinds all ad to the luxury.

The hotel has self-service breakfast and dinner items available as well as a bar and coffee service. Quality is good, selection is adequate although the price is rather high. Lobby also sells an array of toiletries and other "stay" related items.

Small note though, if traveling with a companion you are not "close" with, this will not be for you, as the bathroom area of the rooms is not really private.

Overall a wonderful stay and would most definately return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgins
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The hotel is fun, but nobody speaks Dutch, strange in the main Capital city....then if you are interested by the internet price per night you have to know that you will have to pay for every breath your take: if you pay with credit card, the city taxes, ...and if you are luck they will give you an already occupied room and you will see your future nice, naked neighbour, nice to know that anybody can get your room key card....
Design is nice, rooms are smalls, TV internet is free : positive point.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Hi “Hubert R”,

I investigated our logs to find that our housekeeping team had changed the status of the room by mistake, something that simply can’t happen. I truly apologize that your room was assigned wrongly.

citizenM is located at an international city, our staff is hired based on their personality, ability to smile and passion to serve – not everyone speaks Dutch but find here 5+ spoken languages any time, including Dutch staff assisting locals who are not able to communicate in English language. At check-in, we offer you the option to pay via debit card, without fees. On the other hand, credit card companies and visa debit charge a fee per transaction, reason of €2,50 extra. We think it is not fair to increase the room rate to everyone, including those who prefer paying with a debit card. This information is also noted during the booking process and confirmation email.

We believe in no hidden costs but a clear and honest approach. Fast & reliable Wi-fi is free, movies on demand are free; we judge those essential, and must be free. It is fair that in 2012 you can make telephone calls to the world for less than 5 cents/minute, almost free calls from the room. €20 breakfast is a no-no at citizenM, but offer you an affordable buffet option, spite of also having a la carte too – let’s say you would like to have a croissant and coffee, here you can purchase those items only, instead of being charged for an entire buffet breakfast.

All in all, citizenM is a different option of hotel aimed for smart travelers who like the luxury of a comfortable bed and contemporary ambiance but has an eye on value.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed two nights for tourist fun. I didn't mind the small room, pretending we were living on a space ship, a la Ripley in Aliens, but we did each spend some separate time on the computers in the lobby so that each of us had some alone time in the room. The technology had some problems too, internet was sometimes very slow in our 1st floor room, only one of the lobby computers could print but it was out of toner and the order was coming in "later", TV in our room was "new" so needed to be reset before it would work and then needed maintenance the next day before we could watch any of the on demand movies. Or we were offered the choice of changing to another room. Also, they were out of city maps too and would get more "later". We ended up using one from the

To get to the main tourist areas like led zeppelin plaza, museum plaza, frank house and red light district (but put a Finish accent on all those to get the correct locations) we had to take a crowded tram 5 for 15 minutes each way. If I had it to go again, I would have stayed closer to the action. But overall, a decent experience with clean rooms and a big comfy bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Just like its sister hotel at schiphol airport, this one is great in every way. Not really suitable if youre shy, because the shower is see through. Although they tell you that the glass becomes foggy if you turn the hot water on......it doesnt!
But if you're a single or business traveller this checks all the boxes on convenience, location, staff, comfort, cleanliness and accessibility. And more.
Great hotel chain for overnight stays for mobile young professionals. I wouldnt choose any other place in this price range.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.