We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“stylish hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My weekend spent in this hotel was amazing! Budget and luxury as they use to say! Is unbelievable modern design, so I had feeling that I'm in a Star Wars space shuttle :) Rooms are very clean and very stylish! The mood pad is great, and the bed is perfect super king size, very very comfortable! Wireless internet, Apple computers, library....all is great! The bar is a little bit expensive, but is normal for Amsterdam!
It is a little bit far from the center of Amsterdam, but next to the hotel there is amazing Beatrix park, great for romantic walks :) Anyways is around 10-15 minutes with taxi to the center!

I can't wait to go again there, or I hope in some other CitizenM hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,432
    927
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
124
1354
234
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Have just spent the weekend at this cool hotel. Liked pretty much everything about it, the lobby, the room, the moodpad and its helpful staff, who could not have been nicer and more customer oriented. The distance from the city centre was not a problem, as it took us 10min by tram or taxi. We will definitely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I booked this as a stopover while waiting for a connecting flight which was some 9 hours later as we were on out way back from New York so was thankful for the rest. Dominic booked me in and I found him extremely helpful and his customer service was exceptional which is a nice change these days. The hotel is very modern and you can change the lighting in your room to different colours depending on your preference. Had a really comfortable sleep which was well needed. The only thing is the shower doesn't have much privacy as it is within the bedroom area with glass doors but I would still return to the hotel as everything else was excellent, even down to the communication facility they give you to keep in touch with your family while you are away. The hotel cannot be faulted on customer care, friendly staff, phonecall facility, wifi, and comfortable beds, although next to the airport we found our room very quiet and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Hope Dominic continues working there as he is really excellent!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here on a Stag weekend last week. Yeah, I know what you're thinking, but our average age was mid 40's :) The hotel is a great experience and well worth checking out. As someone mentions below, only share a room with someone you know really well!

The ground floor of the hotel looks a little like an Ikea showroom, all quirky furniture & open plan. It's very useable though & free Internet is a definate plus (we checked-in for our return flight and printed off boarding passes). There's a cool cafe, especially good for snacking at 3 in the morning **cough** and early morning coffee.

The rooms are just damn funky. Make sure you close the shower door solidly before using, otherwise it doesnt work and you get very confused and hungover* (* not directly related to the shower). The toilet also is in a semi-circular pod, which closes to give privacy. This is the biggest drawback of the whole place although in reality, I used the very clean lobby toilets for "longer visits" and for a weekend trip, it really isnt an issue. I didn't even know about the mood lighting until I saw it on here! The Bed by the way is large and very comfy with a big flatshreen on a wall above, with a couple of free films.

Staff were excellent, extremely keen to help & always smiling.

The hotel is out a bit by Amsterdam Zuid station. It does make it extremely quick to the airport, but a cab, a long walk, a Metro or a tram into the town centre. We ended up doing 3 of these. When walking, if you plan your route well, you can go via parks or the Museums and it's an event in itself. The cab, even late night was €20-25, which considering how much you save on the room, is worth it. The tram was kinda slow, but only a 5 min walk from the hotel. We caught the "5". I think it was €3.50 for an hour ticked or €7 for 24 hours, we accidentally bunked when it became clear that the driver didn't want to talk to us!

All in all it's a great adventure staing here and really worth it if you want to try something funky and different

Room Tip: they are all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is everything the website promises. Simple, stylish, clean, comfortable and great value for money. The bed is enormous and very comfortable.The drench shower is a dream.The mood pad to operate the lighting, heating, blinds and tv worked great. The check in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly, helpful and informative.
The bar/breakfast area is good and has a wide selection of drinks and meals.
The hotel is easy to find. From the airport take the train for 1 stop to Zuid station. Exit the station and walk across the square between the two WTC buildings.Walk through the underpass beneath the highway and then turn right when you pass the office/apartment block ( you will see the sign)
There is ample space in the room for 2 people. The only downside was a lack of space for hanging clothes and no coffee making facilities ( essential 1st thing in the morning)
The tram stop (no 5) is 5 mins from the front door( turn left and left again) and takes about 20 mins to the central station.
We paid an extra 19€ for a 3 pm check out which was worth every cent.
Our only regret is that we couldn't find a copy print of the "Saturday Night" artwork in the foyer near the lifts
Can't wait to return again or for the London hotel to open.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Myself and partner stayed at the CitizenM for a long weekend in 2011 and we loved it!

Whilst I can see why it might not be everyone’s cup of tea, personally I loved the modern design of the hotel. It’s unique and it’s breaking the mold of conventional hotel accommodation and that is something which should be applauded.

The rooms are small but well equipped with everything you need. The bed is huge and comfortable and the in-room entertainment is outstanding (free movies, music etc). The shower and toilet cubicles in the middle of the room may be a step to far for some, but it worked for us. Within the hotel reception there are a number of computers which offer free internet and there is a ‘café’ type area offering a range of drinks and snacks – 24 hours a day if I’m not mistaken.

It's true that this hotel isn't located in the centre of Amsterdam but don't let this put you off. The location of the hotel is superb, just 5 minutes from Amsterdam Zuid train station (which has a direct train to the airport) and less than 5 minutes from the train #5 stop, that takes you to the City downtown passing through various tourist attractions like Van Gogh Museum.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Loved staying here. Prompt service, modern, very clean and modern rooms and the price is perfect!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.