We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design, friendly staff but just a little too out of centre for short breaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Modern design, friendly staff but just a little too out of centre for short breaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I spent most of my time in Amsterdam with a cold and arrived late one evening ready for a hot tea and my bed. The staff members were friendly and greeted me with enthusiasm - and were very helpful when helping me to use the self check-in terminals. You can choose from a room with a city-view, or a garden-view - unless you're on one of the higher floors (I was on the first floor), it doesn't really matter.

The lobby is stylish and it's been designed to feel like you're sat in your fashionable friend's lounge. Books concerning art and design adorn the shelves and the TVs show various European channels. There's a real hostel feel to it and nearly all of the employees are in their twenties - yet there are many older guests staying too.

The rooms are designed either for singles or couples. They're small and compact, but the space is used brilliantly - two cylinders form the toilet and shower - the toilet is covered in matte glass, but the shower is transparent (it's not really the place I'd choose if holidaying with friends), but it was a fun touch.

The entire room's functions are controlled with a remote control - you can turn off or dim the lights with it, change channel on the TV, change the temperature etc. And the bed was wonderful - it's a huge king-sized, very comfy bed. And everything is very clean!

The hotel is in the heart of the business quarter - it's around 20 minutes by tram (tram number 5, which leaves from outside the hotel) to the centre, but the tram was packed every time I rode it (I was being grumpy with my cold, but I'd have appreciated a seat). Alternatively you can take the metro to the central station - the metro is around a 5 minute walk from the hotel next to the World Trade Center. I was only in Amsterdam for a few days, so the 20-30 minute journeys weren't ideal and being in the heart of the city would have been easier - but it was a minor issue.

I really wanted to visit Restaurant Greetje while in Amsterdam, I have heard many wonderful things - but due to my cold (shall I mention that one more time?!) I ended up eating noodle soup in nearby Wagamama's. Breakfast at CitizenM was perfectly ok, but for 10 € (if you book the night before, otherwise it's something like 13 € if you pay on the day) was a little steep for what there was - croissants, bread rolls, pain au chocolats, cheeses, fruit and muesli with yogurt, plus a juice and a hot drink. The bar is open 24 hours for food, but it was also expensive for what there was - I paid around 8 Euros for a lasagne that I had to heat in the microwave myself.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,833
    1,165
    237
    68
    38
See reviews for
166
1,669
296
699
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at the Citizen M in Amsterdam on an overnight layover. The hotel was great. Check in was easy and the staff were all very helpful. The room was exactly as I thought it would be. Everything worked well, although it did take some figuring out to get the lights/tv/window controller to work the way we wanted it too (the problem was us, not the unit).

The rooms are not large, but who needs floor space? Everything was perfectly serviceable and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. This hotel is not "charming" but it is modern and clean and simple. At the end of a long trip, just the essentials of what we needed.

The only thing I would do differently, given the same situation, is that I would stay at the Citizen M at Schipol, instead of travelling part way into the city. The cab ride was very expensive and the train station was a bit of a hike in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel has some of the best amenities that I've seen in a while, especially for a budget place. Small but very attractive functional room. Free movies, comfortable bed. Good food at reasonable prices. Friendly people. At the airport. This is going to be the hot new chain.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This place definitely takes modern to a whole new level. I liked all the energy efficient steps they've taken to give you comfort while minimizing waste. The shower, which looks like a capsule from space, works only when the doors are shut, most everything in the room works via a remote control. The rooms are super modern and the bed, I have to say, is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, even better than my own, it was a king size and the sheets also super-soft. It does offer very good value for the money, especially knowing the average cost of similar hotels in Amsterdam. The only thing is, it's not really in the middle of it all and you have to walk 10 minutes or so to get to the nearest cafe' or restaurant. However they do compensate by offering a whole range of foods and beverages, that are actually pretty good and inexpensive, as well as several common areas to enjoy your dinner, watch TV or just hang out. They even have Mac computers available for free and working all the time. If you pre-pay for breakfast do keep in mind that they do not have scrambled or fried eggs, just boiled eggs, but other than that you can get pretty much all you want and coffee is really good. The staff was very friendly, very young but very pleasant and helpful and also seemed to be happy to be working there, which is not something you often see in the hotel industry. Tram #5 will take you to Hotel Citizen from downtown in abut 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. King size bed for all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great location near station zuid. Friendly staff who are there to help at anytime. Perfect (very small) room, with all the facilities you need. Personnaly i like the lobby to hang out. Beautifull designer furniture, a lot of space, but also quiet corners to relax.
In the morning there's no traditional breakfast. They do sell croissants, yoghurt etc.

Room Tip: When checking in choose a room with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Okay, it's my fault I got chocolate on the bed sheets. It is Amsterdam, home of milk chocolate, after all. But you'd think the cleaning staff might have changed the sheets. I spent my last of three nights at the hotel sleeping on my shame. That detail aside, Citizen M represents good value for Amsterdam. Central Station is about 20 minutes away on the tram. Use of space in the room is really commendable and the beds are quite comfortable. I didn't pre-pay the breakfast -- which I understand is about 9 Euros for all you can out. I chose a la carte and my choices amounted to about 7 Euros a day, which seemed reasonable to me. Free WiFi, nice common spaces and free movies are a nice touch.

Room Tip: Only share if you know the person really well and don't mind going to the bathroom in front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel has a great location and convenient to access the main attractions in the centre and it has a very cosmopolitan style to it! Everything is minimalistic, there are no doors to the bathroom or shower so you can literally see when someone is in there, so be careful who you share with! after a day, you just laugh at it but at first it is very awacquard. If you are looking for a cosy, romantic soace, then this is not the place. I went there with my husband and three friends and we didnt mind it as we were there for three nights during new years. The hotel's breakfast is not hot, only cold croissants, pastries, etc so we never had breakfast there. Staff are helpful during check in as you check in yourself in their hotel screens and you need the staff to guide you through the process. the tram is outside the hotel but in the local area there is nothing much apart from a couple of bars / caffes.
I reccomend this hotel for a trip with friends or if you going on business! the room is very small and if you planning to stay too long in the room, it is not advisable! you ll be bumping into each other.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Casa 400
#59 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.