We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say that hasn't already been said?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“What can I say that hasn't already been said?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I recently spent two days in Amsterdam during our European whirlwind tour via the rails. We booked in at the CitizenM as it seemed to really catch our eye based on the Trip Advisor reviews to experience something a little different. That said, here's a summary of our CitizenM experience:

Rooms - Felt like I was entering a space capsule! Pictures describe the rooms far better than words, so I've attached a few. "Trendy" and "different" are truly understatements, you have to see it to believe it! Its no secret the rooms are on the smaller side (as is the standard of many European hotels), but what the rooms lack in size they make up for 10-fold i character and visual appeal! From the capsule-like shower and bathroom stalls, to the remote control blinds, music and funky lighting, the CitizenM thought of everything when coming of with the design of this place. My only wish is that our stay could have been longer! That said, If you're travelling top heavy with luggage, this room may not be conducive nor practical for you, but ideal for backpackers or those traveling with one suitcase.


Front desk/staff: Friendly and helpful and with no hassles checking in or out. Your check in/out process is completely automated and done electronically rather than through a "front desk", but always someone around to assist you if there's any confusion (there won't be, its super easy!)

Location - As asset or a drawback, depending which way you view it. Via tram, its a good 20-25 minute journey to and from downtown Amsterdam proper, but very easy to catch as it runs continuously throughout the day. As an asset, its off the beaten path and away from the madness and crush of the crowds, so could be viewed as somewhat of a personal escape with transit at your fingertips depending on your point of view.

Value - One of the best deals going in Amsterdam, period! Sure its a little off the track, the the price coupled with everything else makes this place feel like a steal!

The bottom line - The CitizenM most definitely deserves its title as Trip Advisor's trendiest hotel . From the truly one of a kind rooms, unique decor and futuristic theme, I can only hope I'm afforded the opportunity to stay here again. One thing remains certain above everything else: The CitizenM is more than a hotel, its an experience the likes of which I have no other hotel to compare it to. Five out of five, no question.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    999
    210
    59
    37
See reviews for
131
1,452
257
608
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England,Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

Well where do I begin? Me and my partner have just got back from this fantastic hotel! Before we went we read a few of the reviews on trip advisor and was slightly worried at what to expect! But on our arrival we feel in love with the place straight away! The hotel lobby is stylish and up to date and the staff are on hand to help with check in as this is all self service!
The rooms are modern, although not big, but who needs a big room when you should be out exploring the city of Amsterdam? The control pad in the room is great and the mood lights just add to the feel of a great hotel!
The staff are brilliant, nothing is too much for them! On our first night there one of the staff sat with us for a good 20 minutes and explained loads of stuff to us! The hotel lobby and bar is made to feel like its your lounge and they sure do give it that feel! Please ignore any bad comments on this hotel as I am one of the first to complain about something and with all honesty I can't with this hotel! We are already booking to go back in February and we can't wait for the London one to open in June 2012!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Very nice and comfortable hotel, the rooms are nice and everything thing is controlled with a remot control and u have a very close tram station and a near by train station just 10 min. Walk, the only bad thing was the food and no smoking area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

Amazing hotel such a friendly bunch of staff, nothing is to much. Rooms are outstanding would recommend this hotel to anyone, feels like home away from home. Would definitely stay again, the technology is outstandy and the beds are just Devine!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Booked it through late rooms, so a little insure what to expect , however on arrival pleasantly surprised, very modern, very helpful and polite staff, some nice unique touches, easy access to the city tram No 5, No restaurant but the self service food bar is excellent as is the coffee. The rooms are a little on the small side, bed is amazingly comfortable and large. Give it a try, I would certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

What a great place to stay! From the moment you walk through the spot you are greeted by smiles and excellent attentiveness from the staff,or ambassadors as they are called. The lobby is spotlessly clean and very chic and hip. The room was great and very novel with the shower in the middle of the room,the mood pad was a good laugh trying to work it out,and tons of free films and music on the tv were a nice touch also. Back in the bar area we had a few drinks and soaked up the chilled atmisphere for a bit before a nice ambassador booked us a taxi into town for a meal. Good location as out of the hustle and bustle of town but not too far out and right next to tram stop anyway. There's so much more I can't think of everything, great comfy bed,lovely snacky food,good selection of drinks at the bar,nice art on the walls,funky furniture,can't say enough,perfect for a short haul trip,already looking at trying citizenm Glasgow next month!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The hotel is well located if you arrive by train as its within 10 mins walk. The hotel is very modern and comfortable. A tram ride is required to get the the heart of Amsterdam these are very regular.The room on arrival was very clean and well presented, however when unpacking I found my 1st fault with the room only 3 coat hangers and no space to have any more if they were available. My 2nd fault was no tea/coffee facilities in the room, this is as standard if you ask me!!!
My overall impression of the hotel was very good!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.