We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky but Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

What an absolutely strange place to stay. It is a very comfortable and hip place.

Staff: All friendly and helpful. No stuffy grumps. Looks like they enjoyed working there

Lobby: It is self-service and high tech, but there is staff to help you. The area was well designed and comfortable. Nice place to relax and have coffee or beer.

Food: Breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of food

Rooms: really comfortable. Beds and sheets are clean with a great window view. The bathroom and showers are "weird" with colorful lights to put you in a romantic mood. The design of the shower and toilet are just wonderful. What a concept. Really enjoyed my stay.

Location: I don't know why people keep writing the hotel is close to everything. It really is NOT. If you work at WTC, then it is in good location. For tourists, you have to take a tram to the central location. The tram is right around the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,430
    926
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
124
1352
234
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Visited Amsterdam on business and the accomodation was booked by a colleague, when told of the type of hotel citizen m was, I must confess I was a little worried! I should not have been. Citizen M is different to what I am used to but as it turned out it was excellent. The rooms are not huge by any means but well laid out with all you need, very clean and comfortable. Free movies and broadband are a nice touch. Staff are a little hip but very polite and helpful especially when booking in and out (you do this yourself on computer terminals - this may not be ideal after a long trip?). The hotel is very close to the airport, walking distance so transport into the city or beyond is very easy with trains, planes and taxi outside the door. Lots of options for eating locally with a Hilton and Sheraton close by as well as a cafe in the hotel itself. I would stay here again but probably only on my own as I don't think the room is ideal for a couple (not for me anyway)

Room Tip: They say that the rooms facing the airport are the quietest. I was not troubled by any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Breakfast was poor. No minbar. Wines sold in the hotel shop were awfull.
In the double room privacy in the toilet is nice. Here it was not possible. Not good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAO PAULO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The Hotel is locate close to the centre city, about 15 min from the train number 5. Transport is not a problem because you always can rent a bike or you can catch the train which the stop is very close to the hotel and every 10 to 15 min you will have a new one. The room is small but is ok, and with you are not in Amsterda for shopping it will fit you. The Hotel has the facility of been a 24h service and you can have a hot drink as a capuccino or a fast meal, as a salad or a yakssoba or a curry chicken whatever you wish. Wireless Internet is free in the entire hotel. The room and all the hotel is extremely clean and a nice place to stay. I'll certain recommed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My girfriend and I are just back from a three night stay at the CitizenM Amsterdam City and to sum this hotel up in one word.....superb. From the ease of check in and the attentiveness of the staff this would be one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed in.

The hotel is a 5 minte walk from Amsterdam Zuid Station and a tram stop across the road from the hotel makes it a perfect location to explore the beautiful city of Amsterdam. The number 5 tram takes you from the hotel to Leidseplein in about 7 minutes or Dam Square in 15 minutes. If you're there for a few days I would recommend a 72 hour public transport pass that can be bought from the big silver machines at Zuid station for €15.50.

Check in and check out was a breeze and is all self service with staff members there to help. The bedroom was beautiful and had a huge wall to wall bed. We really enjoyed the uniqueness of the rooms with the shower and toliet contained in seperate pod's within the room. The free on demand movies were a great feature as well. Superb wi-fi as well.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more polite or helpful. Service always with a smile which is sadly lacking from many other hotels.

We never had breakfast in the hotel. Instead we went to Bagels & Beans which was a five minute walk from the hotel. When you leave the main exit of the hotel turn right and walk to the end of the road and you will find it across the road. Two hot BTL bagels and 2 bottles of pure apple juice for €14.60.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. Looking forward to visiting again soon. Thanks to CitizenM and their wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for two nights in October. Our stay went as planned, and the staff was very friendly, although the coolness of their every single remark sometimes went overboard, but you can forgive that considering that's the name of the game at CitizenM. The hotel is conveniently located if you need to access the Schiphol airport, as the Amsterdam Zuid train station is just a stop from there, and a short walk from the hotel. The restaurant Fidelio a few blocks away serves delicious food, although many of the "citizens" seem to have found the place based on two dinners there. The bed is just huge and pillows and blankets are top class. Transport to the City, Pijp or other parts of town is easy and quick.

Going into our personal experience (and hopefully allowing for a little bit of heresy among all the loyal praise previously written here), the hotel left us fairly cold. This despite the fact that the lobby is furnished with design classics (and geniune, expensive ones they are) and although they have some advanced tech tricks installed everywhere. What caused most irritation right from the start was that they position themselves above normal hotels that cater for "ordinary tourists", being a home for a global tribe of travellers who are somehow smarter in their travels and especially hotel selections than your average Joe. For us, this soon started to feel as calculated as it probably is. It did not take away the fact that their rooms are plain tiny and have very little warmth or coziness of any sort.

Controlling everything with an RC does not add any comfort, either, after a few minutes of fooling around with the device. Quite the contrary, finding optimal lighting for various situations turned out to be difficult (going in the toilet during night while sleeping with a partner was a mess as you had to light up the entire room). Another thing was that their breakfast deal could be more flexible: you cannot get the cheaper pre-book option for just one morning, but either take it or leave it for the entire stay, since the "system" has been programmed so according to a staff "ambassador". But to be fair, if you ditch the hype it is an ok hotel as long as you don't expect the comfort of a four-star hotel - or pay for one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night in the CitizenM Amsterdam City Centre in March 2011.
We had to pay 90 € for the room without breakfast,
The hotel is definitely not in the City of Amsterdam. Even though you have a tram station next to the hotel it takes you about 20 minutes to get to the city centre. And... in the night the tram stops its service. The hotel might be good for buisiness travellers as the World Trade Centre is near by, for sightseeing I would definitely not recommend staying there.
Now for the room: Before booking the hotel I read in the reviews and in some travel magazines that the rooms are well designed and that you get so much comfort for your money. Well... I could definitely not agree.
The rooms are tiny (which is okay in Amsterdam) but they aren't well designed at all. The bed is okay even though it's a little uncommon to have only one side to enter it. The shower is really good, the bath products are not.
The real problem in the room is that you have first nearly no space to store your luggage and your wardrobe and second that the toilet is really impossible. I stayed with my husband but really don't need him to be virtually in the toilet with me. The toilet (and also the shower) is in kind of a glass cylinder, its frosted glass but you can easily see through. And you can hear through it...Very inconvenient...
Last not so good thing about the hotel is the bar. The drinks there are very expensive, a small bottle of still water at 2,50 or 3 € is really annoying.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Hi “mericet”,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor and I apologize if we haven’t informed you properly with information as for location and room layout.

As noted on booking channels, our name “citizenM Amsterdam City” does not mention city centre, there is no secret or hidden information here. We are located in the South of the city, which is 6 minutes by train from the airport (+ 3-5 minute walk from the train station), 7 minute tram ride to the city centre (Museum District: Van Gogh, Rijks and Stedelijk Museum), 10 minutes from Leidseplein (main entertainment square). As mentioned, we are located in a residential area where Amsterdammers live, right next to the business district, RAI conference center and World Trade Center buildings are within 3-7 minute walk. Local cafes and restaurants are available nearby but you won’t find a Starbucks in close proximity.

But in Amsterdam, we usually ride bikes, which can be rented nearby.

Comparable to luxurious private jet, the room is functional for a short stay and designed with the best materials. While you can store a large opened suitcase in the drawer under the bed, hangers next to the door accommodates a jacket, jeans and shirt. We focus on the best bed (XL king-size) covered with Luxurious Frette linen, power rain shower and a twist, mood lights and a single device that controls the entire room, from TV and free movies on demand to temperature and blinds. Understand you need to be comfortable with the person sharing the room with, pictures and other reviews here points that too, helping the decision making before making a reservation. We also believe in free wi-fi, Skype phone rates in the rooms and a lobby that is not a typical hotel lobby but large living rooms filled with Vitra furniture – definitely not the traditional.

A bottle of water costs €2, while not supermarket price is definitely not a typical mini-bar hotel price either. The canteenM downstairs is open round the clock, with fresh food and beverages 24/7, convenient for citizens who would like having a breakfast either at 8AM or 8PM.

We are taking your feedback onboard to improve our communication and not creating wrong expectations.

Wish you safe travels,

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.