We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was again a super experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“It was again a super experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a really special design boutique hotel.
Centrally located to the RAI, WTC and city center (with public transport).
The hotel rooms are relatively small but excellent designed. The beds and pillows are fabulous. The room is very quiet. The shower is great.
The hotel lobby has a living room experience with modern but cosy furniture.
The price/quality is excellent.
It was my 3rd stay with this hotel. I keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,836
    1,166
    237
    68
    38
See reviews for
166
1,671
296
699
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We've stayed in CitizenM this summer for 3 nights. The hotel is located very close to tram station where you can reach the city center in nearly 15 minutes. When you walk into the building, you can recognize that this is not a routine hotel. The rooms are mid size with very modern design. You can use a remote control for controlling the curtain, room temperature TV and even color of the lighting.

Cons: Rooms are very clean and staff is very kind. The bed is very large and nearly 1/3 size of the room.
Pros: There are no place to put the luggage, and other stuff. And also there may be a refrigrator in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Me & my girlfriend stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago.
Its a little out the way but a simple tram ride will take you there. The hotel is very clean & smart. very modern with lots of apple macs & tv's.
the room is pretty small but i liked that as every thing was really cosy.
If you want some thing different , somewhere that will leave you alone then this is the place for you. oh, the funky lights was fun too.
you will defo enjoy.

Room Tip: all rooms are prob not much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

arrived at citizen m Amsterdam city on Sept. 1. as soon as I walked in the door Marko checked me in and served me my first beer. check in and check out very easy! 24 hour food and drink fantastic! Rooms very nice for a single guy. Also got free phone calls to the U.S.! Recommend this place to everyone. It was GREAT!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed 11 days in August after a positive stay in May. Room was good as expected, and clothing fit in drawer under the bed quite easily for all those moaners/whingers. Noticed cleaning staff was quicker than last time...missed around the shower on the first day but other days were all fine. Staff were generally helpful and friendly... except I did end up getting screwed over by a amsterdam cabbie (the one time out of 10 i didnt negotiate the price before hand... he charged 70 euro for a 12-15 euro trip....) The night staff showed no interest or desire to assist me in dealing with the situation... this seems to be common in Dutch Tourism industry.and where the customer service and helpulness stops - as long as its trivial they will help.. but when theres a situation or something potentially negative they become very hands off. Noticed alot more smokers outside this time than in May... most have the habit to literally stand outside the door and others have to walk through their smoke

tips -
-better food in canteen (sushi and light sandwiches are ok..but need more variety).. the breakfast sadwiches being tested in the AM were a great idea
-a latch or even rubber band to keep shower doors closed (sometimes if the shower door doesnt seal right than the shower will not start)


still one of my favorite hotels

Room Tip: go for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel and I still love everything about it - Style, ethos, it's proxmity to the centre of town, airport, museums and parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Breakfast should be more friendly. From our vacation we have the experience from four other hotels.So, for 10 euros we had full table in Poland, Germany, Italy and Swiss. The room is clean and bed is very good. Cool idea with all from features of SmartHouse!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Casa 400
#58 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.