We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was again a super experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“It was again a super experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a really special design boutique hotel.
Centrally located to the RAI, WTC and city center (with public transport).
The hotel rooms are relatively small but excellent designed. The beds and pillows are fabulous. The room is very quiet. The shower is great.
The hotel lobby has a living room experience with modern but cosy furniture.
The price/quality is excellent.
It was my 3rd stay with this hotel. I keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,399
    909
    189
    55
    34
See reviews for
117
1325
231
546
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We've stayed in CitizenM this summer for 3 nights. The hotel is located very close to tram station where you can reach the city center in nearly 15 minutes. When you walk into the building, you can recognize that this is not a routine hotel. The rooms are mid size with very modern design. You can use a remote control for controlling the curtain, room temperature TV and even color of the lighting.

Cons: Rooms are very clean and staff is very kind. The bed is very large and nearly 1/3 size of the room.
Pros: There are no place to put the luggage, and other stuff. And also there may be a refrigrator in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Me & my girlfriend stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago.
Its a little out the way but a simple tram ride will take you there. The hotel is very clean & smart. very modern with lots of apple macs & tv's.
the room is pretty small but i liked that as every thing was really cosy.
If you want some thing different , somewhere that will leave you alone then this is the place for you. oh, the funky lights was fun too.
you will defo enjoy.

Room Tip: all rooms are prob not much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

arrived at citizen m Amsterdam city on Sept. 1. as soon as I walked in the door Marko checked me in and served me my first beer. check in and check out very easy! 24 hour food and drink fantastic! Rooms very nice for a single guy. Also got free phone calls to the U.S.! Recommend this place to everyone. It was GREAT!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed 11 days in August after a positive stay in May. Room was good as expected, and clothing fit in drawer under the bed quite easily for all those moaners/whingers. Noticed cleaning staff was quicker than last time...missed around the shower on the first day but other days were all fine. Staff were generally helpful and friendly... except I did end up getting screwed over by a amsterdam cabbie (the one time out of 10 i didnt negotiate the price before hand... he charged 70 euro for a 12-15 euro trip....) The night staff showed no interest or desire to assist me in dealing with the situation... this seems to be common in Dutch Tourism industry.and where the customer service and helpulness stops - as long as its trivial they will help.. but when theres a situation or something potentially negative they become very hands off. Noticed alot more smokers outside this time than in May... most have the habit to literally stand outside the door and others have to walk through their smoke

tips -
-better food in canteen (sushi and light sandwiches are ok..but need more variety).. the breakfast sadwiches being tested in the AM were a great idea
-a latch or even rubber band to keep shower doors closed (sometimes if the shower door doesnt seal right than the shower will not start)


still one of my favorite hotels

Room Tip: go for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel and I still love everything about it - Style, ethos, it's proxmity to the centre of town, airport, museums and parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Breakfast should be more friendly. From our vacation we have the experience from four other hotels.So, for 10 euros we had full table in Poland, Germany, Italy and Swiss. The room is clean and bed is very good. Cool idea with all from features of SmartHouse!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.