We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in the world :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Riga, Latvia
1 review
“Probably the best hotel in the world :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

So, it all started on the 6th of August, when we arrived in CitizenM. The girl at reception desk was extremely kind and helpful, so procedure of check-in was easy and fast. As we arrived on the day, when gay parade was, the receptionist said they offered welcome drinks that day because of this event. As there was only 1 drink ready, and we were a couple, they asked us to come back later to enjoy our drinks. The welcome drink was very delicious -fruity, sweet and light. Next morning we went to the canteen. We were really surprised by wide range of coffee offered (capuccino, espresso, etc. They had even hot chocolate milk, and range of tea was also impressive.). As in our country we usually drink black coffee adding a bit milk to it, we offered two Americano coffees and asked if we may get a bit of milk. Barista asked, if we wanted hot or cold milk! I have never experienced such a care for customer in other hotels! Canteen works 24/7; although we didn't choose breakfast (we don't like continental breakfast very much), there was wide range of sandwiches to buy in the morning, and if you want, they can warm it up. Hot ham and cheese sandwiches were great for breakfast. Room was nice, and room-service was made every day. Minus is that they didn't have wardrobe in the room, but hangers near the door was enough for us. Idea of having personal safe in the room to lock your valuables in, while you are away, is perfect! The staff was extremely friendly, asking in the evening how our day was, and what we've seen. It was possible to get Heineken extra cold in the canteen, and cocktails (Mojito was very delicious, and cocktails with Martini as well). The style of hotel-modern and interesting. Although the hotel is located in South Amsterdam, it is possible to reach the centre of the city in 10-15 minutes by train Nr. 5, as tram stop is located just round the corner. 1-hour ticket costs 2.60EUR, but we bought city card (I amsterdam), and it included public transport card for 72 hours.
In total, we really enjoyed staying in CitizenM, and on the way home we decided - if we come to Amsterdam again, we will definitely stay at CitizenM.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,432
    927
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
124
1354
234
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I cant really fault the citizen M in Amsterdam City. We stayed for two nights on the final two days of our holiday. Its a new quirky style with computers in the foyer to check in and no manned reception as such, although there were always at least two staff in the vicinity of the terminals to help with the check in/out procedure or any other query. The staff were without exception extremely friendly and helpful...full marks. Plenty of comfortable seating areas with tvs on the ground floor, all very new and modern. A self service food area selling all kinds including your breakfast if you wanted to buy it, but sit at stools style as opposed to a separate dining room....all very new and modern also...prices didnt seem too bad either. The rooms are like a box,space is quite limited but with everything you need and a massive bed. Its a bit like an up market Premier Inn (for English readers) . Toilet and shower are all part of the room albeit with sliding frosted glass screens to close them off....again all very new and spotlessly clean.
The location is great, being a 10 minute tram ride in to the city with the tram stop for the number 5 tram about a three minute walk from the hotel. Get on the tram at the front and pay the driver...we thought the 7 euro 24hr pass each was good value. Schipol to the hotel was also brilliantly easy...train to Amsterdam South (suid) cost 3 euros at the desk or 2.50 euros from a machine. A short walk out of the station, under a road underpass, turn right and about 2-3 minutes and your at the hotel. We payed 210 euros for the two nights without breakfast which for Amsterdam prices I thought was pretty reasonable value. Would I stay there again?...probably not having been there and done it, I do prefer the traditional style hotel with receptions and separate bathrooms. Besides all that though, an excellent stay at an excellent hotel

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be the same layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a great hotel, very modern and trendy.
Very friendlly staff.
The bed is a king size bed, from a wall to wall, with a big window. Very clean and confortable.
It is located on the business part of amsterdam, but just around the corner there is a tram directley to the city center (about 10 mins ride).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Close to transport. Museumplein 5' tram ride. Downton 10-15' tram ride. Amsterdam is a small city, so you can also walk. Train station in a walking distance. Located in a business area, seemed a safe area to move around.
The hotel was modern, cosy and clean. Comfy bed, nice shower. Small room, but has all we need for a 3 night stay. Attention was correct.
We didn't try breakfast cause we consider it expensive (10euros), you can find cheaper breakfasts in outside caffés.
Not cheap, but it worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed in Citizen M Amsterdam City for two nights on a scheduled layover between the U.S. and India. It suited my needs perfectly: relatively inexpensive (by European standards), fairly well located, with friendly and helpful staff. As many other reviewers have mentioned, the design of the place is modern and cool, and the rooms have a "mood pad" gadget, which allows you to set the lighting and temperature of the room, along with mechanized blinds and light-blocking screen. The toilet and shower are basically in the center of the room, each surrounded by a glass pod with sliding doors. The room is literally the width of a king-sized bed (the square bed reaches wall to wall, so you just need to climb up on the end of the bed). The beds are comfortable and the duvets are lovely. The room doesn't feel overly cramped, however, because it is so cleverly designed and unfussy.

The layout and size of the room were absolutely fine for me, a solo traveler, who was staying a short time. Had I been planning a longer stay, or traveling with a friend or partner, I would not have considered this a good option. But then everyone has a different comfort level with privacy or lack thereof!

The hotel is not central to all the action in town, but the tram stop is steps away and it's an easy, short ride to all the major attractions.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant per se, but it does have some snacks, fruit, baked goods, and prepared food you can purchase--either things meant to be eaten cold, or meals that can be heated in their microwave. There is also a nice bar, and coffee drinks are available 24 hours a day.

The lobbies are homey (in a mod sort of way), with couches, lounge chairs, coffee tables, and TVs, and they are meant to be used by hotel guests as places to meet and relax. This makes up for lack of sitting room in the rooms themselves.

When I first saw pictures of the place, before I booked a reservation, I was worried I would be made to feel too old and uncool to stay there! (I'm in my 40s.) But that turned out not to be the case. Well, I might be old and uncool, but I was never made to feel that way! All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. They walk you through the self-check-in process and offer recommendations on sites and restaurants.

In conclusion, I would especially recommend Citizen M for solo travelers or VERY close couples who are looking for an affordable, fun place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights in Aug '11. We had high hopes for the hotel after reading all the positive reviews but were disappointed in the end. The hotel is very convenient from the airport and is situated in a lovely part of Amsterdam right beside Beatrix Park, unfortunately it was a tram ride in to the city which was a bit of an inconvenience for us as whenever we set off we had to plan our day well in advance as it wasn't going to be possible to call back in which we could have done if we'd stayed closer to the centre. The hotel itself was more like a hostel. There was no life about it, the bar was always empty and the food was all pre packaged and overpriced, more like a poorly stocked canteen. The decor was fine if you like that sort of thing but we found it a bit tacky and too much time was spent on the little details and not enough on the major faults. The room was tiny with no storage space worth talking about and the much talked about mood pad was infuriatingly inconsistent to use, we ended up doing most things manually. We stayed in three other cheaper hotel on our holidays and felt they were all superior to this one. In short it would be fine for one night on business but not really for holiday makers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We visite A'dam 4 times a year since my husband is from there. We tried different Hotels (all ****), citizenM is the best one til now. The kingsize bed (2mx2m) is extremly comfortable, the staffs are very helpful and friendly. The room is indeed not the biggest one, but you get everything you need (except one closet, which didn't bother us at all). For us is important to have a good sleep, and this bed guarantees it. We will for sure book this hotel as soon as we visit A'dam again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.