We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #35 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just a few steps from the Amsterdam Zuid station, just one stop away from the airport. Quiet neighborhood location. Had breakfast at the Bagels and Beans cafe~a terrific recommendation from a prior reviewer. The BEST breakfast ever. We picked up sandwiches and drinks from the Albert Heijn mini grocery store, which is on the left as you head out the train station on your way to the hotel. There is also a full-size grocery about 4 blocks past the hotel. After receiving permission on our first day to use their microwave, we brought in some take-away from the grocery and were scolded wildly by one of the citizenM staff members; she was rude and mean and told us we could do it this ONE time, but would have to eat in our rooms. After I told her we had permission from someone the prior day, she said "well, I guess I am a little crazier about this, as someone had their food explode on my shift". Anyhow, on a happier note, do go visit nearby Haarlem--beautiful, clean and a wonderful historic city. We would of skipped downtown Amsterdam altogether in favor of Haarlem. This hotel is so great.....but, you better be open to an alternative experience :)

Room Tip: book early for great rates.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,457
    949
    193
    58
    34
See reviews for
125
1382
239
560
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

What a unique concept. Self check in, so no queues , but someone on hand to help out with a friendly face. My suggestion for breakfast is not to pre-order, simply select what you want from the continental items on display. Free wireless and comfortable surroundings means it's ideal and great value for a business stay too.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have selectable mood lighting themes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Surrey.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend in October

Our room was very small, but functional, and comfortable.

The one thing I would say, is that it may not be suitable for a "new relationship" couple -
The toilet is actually a glass "tube" in the room!
While this is quite novel, it could be pretty embarrassing...

The shower is of the same configuration.

The LED lighting (you can change the colours etc...) was very cool!

One thing I would say is I thought the food was rather expensive.
But this is normal I guess.

I went out for an evening in Amsterdam clubs, and drunkenly left my phone in a taxi.
After calling home on my girlfriends phone, my dad called the hotel, who contacted the taxi company to try and locate it.
The morning after, they tried to help me again, having been passed details of my predicament by the night-staff.
While the phone was never found, I truly appreciated all the help the hotel staff gave me.
Really made a good impression!

The tram stop was right outside the station, which made it nice and easy to pop into the centre (about 10-15 mins away)

I would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was simply wonderful. Gorgeous rooms and lovely lighting system. Huge and comfy bed. Yes, the room is small, but it's enough to make you feel good. Downstairs you have many relax, lounge and business areas where you can hang out. Mac's available for clients and a printer which was a great thing to have. WI-FI all over the hotel. The stuff - just great. Excellent attitude and very helpful.
Very easy to get to from the airport. Just 1 train station away (2.5 euros) From the station you just need to walk for 5 minute and you're there. For transportation within Amsterdam, tram number five is just outside the door.
Food and drinks are a bit expensive in the hotel, but then, everything in Amsterdam in insanely expensive.
There is a "to go" supermarket 2 minutes away with decent prices.
Way better than any other crappy hotel in the city center at the same price. You'll need a tram ticket anyway if you plan to see the city (7 euro/1 day) so you only have to go an extra 10 minutes in the tram to get to the city center.
Oh, and don't forget to check in with foursquare. You'll get a free coffee.

Room Tip: All rooms are exaclty the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Excellent place to stay for 1-2 nights.
5 min on foot from airport building.
Contemporary style. Room is like a gadget to play with. The rooms are small, however, good organized, so you have enough space.
The staffs are very helpful and friendly. Fast and automatic check in.
Flat screen TV, safe in the room, free Wi-Fi. Super comfortable bed!
Very good price for Amsterdam.
Drinks and food are quite expensive but you can buy it much cheaper at Supermarket into airport (5min on foot).
Public transport: train - 7Euro 10min to Amsterdam Central.
Would 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were only here for 2 nights but wish it was longer. The rooms are all the same and you can choose garden or city view. The rooms are faily small but so are all rooms in amsterdam, and at least these ones look great!!

the hotel is very trendy, you check yourself in, there is a canteen/bar open 24/7 so you can come back and have cocktails or beer after a night out. We didnt try the breakfast, more because we wanted to eat in the city.

Would have loved to spend more time in the hotel had the trip not been so short.

Only drawback was that its not eithin walkeing distance to the city centre. but there is a tramstop right outside, and is a 5 minute ride to the museums, and 10 minutes to most other things.

Room Tip: The separate lounges are a great way to unwind
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Citizen M! I think the brand just remains in your mind months after checking out. Whether its the electronic check in desks or the informative healthy complimentary juice boxes or the uber cool modern interiors this hotel is just a fun experience. Located in a quiet suburb of Amsterdam, although well connected by public transport by metro or tram getting back from the main city post midnight may be slightly expensive as public transport shuts early.

Every part of the hotel is covered in little Citizen M reminders which add a fun element to your stay. The rooms are extremely compact with a huge bed and capsule shaped enclosures for your power shower and WC, ideal for single people or a couple. The room has no cupboard but a huge flat screen TV with free movies and a Philips mood remote controller which provides enough entertainment and color to the room.

The reception opens up to a lounge and bar open 24 hours where food can be bought supermarket style and enjoyed in the many areas of the lounge. The lounge resembles a living room and is extremely cosy.

Overall a very enjoyable stay with great staff except the distance from main amsterdam city.

Room Tip: All rooms are standard size you should get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.