We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel at a great price that we'll definitely return to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Farnborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great boutique hotel at a great price that we'll definitely return to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

What a great hotel. I chose this hotel as I was in the city for a concert at the Amsterdam ArenA. A great location both for the airport, ArenA and getting into the city (number 5 tram into the city from next to the hotel). The hotel is modern and unique with great facilities (free wi-fi & movies). You definitely have to be comfortable with whoever you're staying with as the toilet and shower don't afford much privacy but the rainfall shower is amazing! Huge comfortable bed as well and the 24hr cafe has a good selection of food and drinks.

I will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone. It might be out of the city but it only takes 15 mins on the tram.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,385
    895
    187
    55
    33
See reviews for
113
1310
229
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights when visiting Amsterdam for Take That / RW concert. Good access to train from Schipol, Metro and the Tram line (No 5)

Hotel was cool, rooms and the common areas. Having kitchen in the centre does as they say make the common areas feel a bit like a big living room.

Staff were helpful, breakfast was ok, though fruit went quickly on 2 mornings.

Great that WiFi is free every where, and a plus for the Macs instead of PCs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Ultra modern and amazing. The best hotel i've ever stayed in. They provide everything you need. The rooms are small however they are cleverly desgined so you have enough room.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, they can't do enough for you.
Drinks and food not cheap however this was all over amsterdam not just in the hotel.
Would 100% recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend break and were not disappointed with any detail of the hotel. Firstly its location is very easy to get to with the Amsterdam South train station a few minutes walk away and then the tram (no.5) right outside the hotel to take you into the city centre (48 hours travel ticket on any public transport only 11 euros.) I've visited Amsterdam several times before and have always stayed in the centre but never again! We discovered a whole other city staying further south! It was quiet but only ten minutes away from any part of the city you want to visit - AND AWAY FROM TRACKSUIT WEARING, FOUL MOUTHED BRITS!
The reception area and several lounges are very relaxing and the 24 hour food, drink and reception staff available is a very welcome novelty in a hotel. It also has to be said that the reception staff were very helpful indeed, especially Deara. I travel quite a bit and cannot remember someone being as pleasant and genuinely helpful as she was and is a real credit to the hotel.
The rooms are very original and have an oriental style to them (the ethos of the whole hotel in fact) and the toilet and shower with their multicoloured lighting was an interesting touch. Also if you can, get a room on the higher levels with a city view of the World Trade Center, which looks fantastic at night. The bed is another talking point and would probably sleep four people if you were that way inclined; very comfortable and right next to the window which gave it an authentic big city feel when you looked out at night.
To sum up - brilliant hotel in a perfect location with some of the friendliest staff I've encountered. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be looking into others in the chain in other cities as a result of our stay.

Room Tip: Don't do the early check-in for 20 euros, leave the bags for free in the hotel and go explore fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

Just arrived back from a 3-night stay at Citizenm. My husband and I were very impressed. They've really thought about what today's traveller needs and they've provided it in a very cool and quirky way which adds to the enjoyment of your stay. We loved the moodpad, free on-demand movies, free WiFi, cheap phone calls, the huge comfy bed, UK socket in the room and the fab lobby area with Macs and a printer for use. We also thought the location of the hotel was great for sightseeing as its so easy to hop on and off tram 5 plus Zuid station is only a few minutes walk. We really liked the fact that the hotel's slightly away from all the hustle and bustle of the old centre whilst still being close to everything. If we visit Amsterdam again we won't hesitate to book and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Convenient to airport - friendly staff at reception - room very different but modern and clean. Breakfast different from the usual and makes one realise the world is a changing!
Enjoyed our stay for one evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I went with my wife for a weekend trip to Amsterdam and we choose Citizen M based on the price and the premises. We were a little bit worried because it looked a little far from A. downtown and attractions.

However to our surprise the hotel has a very convenient location, close to Schipol and at the same time with an easy connection to downtown. the tram is just in front of the hotel and it is just a short ride to get to Amsterdam centre. No more than 15 minutes.

On the other hand the hotel is amazing, with great design and wonderful and warm staff. The rooms are tiny but with great design. Bathrooms are unique and not for every one, but for us were OK.

We ate breakfast there and it is a good option, not cheap, not expensive and it had a very good choice and the lobby is comfortable and with nice furniture and books.

I would recommend this hotel strongly a superb relation price-quality, nice design and close to downtown without the noise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.