We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool experience, very different hotel concept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cool experience, very different hotel concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

As others have noted, this is not your typical hotel. High concept for sure, quirky design, but it works. This is a perfect spot if you're on a city break for the weekend to Amsterdam as my wife and I were.

Easy to get to the hotel from the airport, its a quick ride from Schipol to Amsterdam Zuid. Be warned the ticket machines don't take notes or non-dutch credit cards, so make sure you have coins, or use the ticket windows.

Check-in was easy with the self service kiosks, and the rooms are quite comfortable despite the design. The bed and pillows were great, and there's a really great media selection, free wi-fi, tv, radio, and a ton of free on demand movies, wish we had more time to watch them! There's enough room for two suitcases, but not a lot more, and the bathroom set up is a bit weird with the tubes for the shower and toilet, but ultimately its fine.

Food downstairs is good for what you need, selection of breakfast items, snacks and drinks, there's also a comfy spacious lobby with tvs and computers for killing time if you need to. Access to the city is via the number 5 tram, its around the corner from the hotel and is a quick ride into the main parts of the city. Area around the hotel is pretty residential, no clubs, bars etc. but its safe and quiet, if you're looking for some place thats in the middle of it all, this isn't it, but on the bright side, you won't have stag parties running up and down the halls either. We'll probably return here next time we're in amsterdam, the value is good and it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    985
    206
    59
    36
See reviews for
130
1,431
253
598
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hotel is not really usual, regarding that the shower and toilet are right in the middle of the room with transparent walls, which can be uncomfortable for those not being in close personal connection. Otherwise comfortable rooms, everything can be adjusted by the guest, except, that the temperature of air conditioning seems to be the same. There is an easy-to-use safe in the room. There is only a small place to put your cloths, so you have to keep almost everything in your luggage for the whole time.
The bed is extremely big and comfortable, but might be high for small travelers.
The location is really excellent, 200 ms from the stop of tram No 5, which takes you to the city center in 15 min, very near to South Rail Station, which is 1 stop from Schiphol airport.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the park are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Myself and my fiance visited the citizenM hotel for 3 nights in June. It is only 10 minutes from Schipol Airport on the train and is the first stop. Tickets are only €2.50 to Zuid Station which is the stop closest to the hotel and is only a 5 minute walk away from the station if even that.
We were greeted immediately when we went in and were checked in very quickly even though we had arrived earlier than the check-in time. The room itself is small but not at all claustrophobic. There's a small area to hang some clothes just in side the door and there is a safe underneath that, which is quite small you could probably only get one laptop in it. Beside that is your toilet and across from that is the rain fall shower.Then there is the fabulous bed which is as wide as the room and square so you can sleep facing which ever way you want. There is also a little desk and a chair and additional storage under the bed which would fit maybe 2 large suitcases so we had no issues with storage.
Getting to and from the city is a breeze, you just catch the number 5 tram across the road from the hotel which runs maybe every 10 minutes. From there it only takes 5 minutes to get to the Rijksmuseum, The House of Bols, The Van Gogh museum and a few more I can't recall. It takes maybe another 5 minutes to get to Dam Square which is very central.
The only problems I encountered were that on the first night we stayed we came back to the hotel in hopes that we could get something to eat nearby. It wasn't too late maybe 9pm and we asked if there was anywhere around and we were told to walk up the street along the tram line and there would be loads of places, which there was but they were all closed. I would have thought the people working in the hotel would have to have a good knowledge of the local area but it didn't seem they did as we asked about getting a train another day and they told us to go to the wrong platform, thankfully we asked in the station and they sent us in the right direction. Also one of the days our room wasn't cleaned but they have apologized profusely for that so I am not going to hold that against them.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel though, it's location is ideal, the beds are comfortable and the staff are really friendly. And best of all it's great value for money.

One tip though don't fork out €10 for the breakfast there is a coffee shop called Bagel's and Beans just 5 mins up the road if you walk to the right when you leave the hotel. There we got a BLT bagel, a toasted bagel with cream cheese, a Cappucino, a Smoothie, and 2 water's for only €12.70 much better value!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragança Paulista, Brasil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Steps away from Schipol Airport. Small but confortable room,it is incredible how the is organized to fit everything.
Very good options for 1 nigth before an early fligth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This place was great!! The quirkiness of this place was well thought of, this included the changing colour lights above the toilet and shower. The tv has its own mood pad remote (about as big as an ipad), the whole room was small but sufficient for sleeping in. It was also a couple of steps to the tram and train station. Will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

A minimalistic approach that works. Probably not suited to everyone's taste but we liked it. Breakfast was a bit overpriced, but the room was well thought out and clean. Service was friendly and discreet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days while attending a conference at the nearby RAI conference center. For a trip like this, the hotel was a good choice. However, this hotel is clearly not for everyone, so I recommend caution before booking it.

I liked:
* The concept of the hotel (check out their web site for details)
* Proximity to RAI conference center and airport

Didn't like:
* Couldn't connect to my company network (via VPN) and there was no on-site support. Front-desk staff was clueless. I travel frequently and this is the first hotel where I couldn't use my VPN. I expect a hotel advertising itself to mobile people to do better in this regard.

Caution:
* Rooms are too small for parties of two in my opinion. Fine for solo travelers.
* Virtually no place to store luggage in room - just two/three hangers. Maybe acceptable for the stuff that fits into a carry-on, but if you have more luggage than that, you will run out of space.
* The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood about 20 min (by tram) from downtown Amsterdam. Within easy walking distance to RAI and WTC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.