We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a hidden gem, definetely a winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More than a hidden gem, definetely a winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Before staying at the CitizenM Amsterdam City, I previously stayed in the more 'busy' downtown / red-light district at the Sofitel Grand. While it was a nice hotel, it wasn't worth 250 euros per night (which was a deal in that area) - 10 minutes away via a tram across from the hotel, the CitizenM is an amazing value, and delivers everything it promises and more.

The one problem I had? The rooms cater more to European outlets, and after mentioning US plugs in the room, I didn't bring my adapters. Turns out there's only (1) 110V AC US based plug-in, which is by the sink, pretty hard to charge / use a laptop. Besides that tiny design flaw, it was amazing.

Yes there isn't a desk for writing or getting expense reports done, but you're in a chic modern hotel in Amsterdam. You shouldn't be doing that, and quite honestly I found it quite hard to get get into any type of proper 'work' mindset with such an amazing city.

The room I was in was spotless, I honestly looked for even 1 fingerprint, smudge, or anything on the glass shower capsule.. nothing - That was very welcome.

After a day in the city of Amsterdam, not being up for going back out to the bar / red-light district for a drink, I chose the 'Canteen' which is centralized in the very 'chic-modern' living room motif lobby they have. The bartenders were amazingly friendly and even offered me advice on local attractions and places to go and experience (better than the tourist guides you can get)

The croissants I found were very good, I'd personally scout them out around 5-6AM when made on site (or delivered from a bakery) because the aroma filled the lobby floor, I found them to be amazing. After a week of having their 'breakfast basket' which includes a croissant, I went back to NJ, had a croissant, and threw it away. Trust me, the food is great at the Canteen, and even includes Sushi / Teriyaki sticks in addition to ice-cream and a full bar.

I never had one problem with the control, but then again I'm an IT consultant. I found it amazingly easy to use, and never had to contact the front desk to due to 'a buggy remote' - Sometimes it took 2-3 seconds to respond upon wake up, but think of the technology that's inside, and give it a second to load.

At 99 euros, this place is better than a hidden gem, I'll be back (with my CitizenM card still on my luggage, so no need for a new one, apparently they save your preferences and settings as well) on June 12th in a few weeks, looking forward to it

Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    1,139
    235
    67
    38
See reviews for
160
1,633
290
691
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

A very small but functional hotel room. You can always sit in the large lobby and pick the most stylish table and chair for you to work at or just relax in - wonderful furniture all over.
I couldn't get the shower to budge, however when I slammed the doors in despair the water started pouring out of the rainshower showerhead. Fantastic.
The bed was wonderful - huge 2x2 meters at least with soft double duvet. Best hotel bed ever.
Breakfast was ok - coffee was excellent and freshly made and the croissant too but not a lot as a healthy starter for a long day at work. More options would be preferable.
I will highly recommend CitizenM - very conveniently located and helpfull staf.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Clean hotel with very small box-like room.Price too high even for Amsterdam. Room is very stylish but not really practical if you close both WC and shower windows you almost cannot get out of the room.Very good connection to te city, I recomend Metro and not Tram.Metro close to WTC.Buy a dayticket for 7 euro and travel 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

CitizenM is definitely not your traditional hotel by any means. The bathroom and shower are in little pods which definitely can make for some.....awkwardness lol. Wasn't too bad though. But the beds.... OMG OMG the most AMAZING bed I have ever slept in, in my entire life!! Also a very nice touch was having the Canteen which is open 24 hours a day. Why doesn't every hotel have this? They have all kinds of food and snacks, drinks, coffee, anything you could possibly want. They also have computers and printers there complimentary for guests (great for printing out your boarding pass!). They also have free Wifi throughout entire hotel. This place is a little outside the city center but not too bad. Cab ride was about 15 euro. But there is also the subway and tram nearby if you don't want to spring for the cab. We were only here for 2 nights but we had a great time. Thanks CitizenM!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

i would def recomend this hotel to anyone and everyone visiting Amsteram! best hotel for your buck! plus free movies and wifii...what else could you ask for!

only downfall...the hotel is in amsterdam, so you think there would be smoking in the room! but even still, it's a great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The best bed I've ever tried!!! Very good sound system in the rooms, Mac computers for internet, and the most modern shower with light effects! The hotel's design is just Amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel is great for a weekend stay. Rooms are very different! Staff are great. Even the canteen style restaurant has good quality food/snacks. The rooms are only good if you are quite close/intimate with friend/partner as the toilet is see thru and not sound proofed!! The hotel lobby is very cosy and makes you feel like you are in your own living room. Wow, the beds are massive and very comfortable and clean.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, citizenM, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.