We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most interesting and fun hotels I've ever been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the most interesting and fun hotels I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Although it was located a little bit away from the heart of the tourist spots in Amsterdam, the whole experience at the hotel was amazing. Loved the quirky rooms. Also, the shower gels and soaps were AWESOME (loved the P.M. shower gel). Can't wait to return! Also excited that's you're opening hotels in the United States soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    1,041
    220
    61
    36
See reviews for
138
1,501
269
636
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Enjoyed the Citizen M with my husband and couple of friends. Loved the trendy room, but the hotel was farther away from central Amsterdam than we expected from reading the hotel's website. However, public transportation was a snap! So many choices: trams, buses, metros, trains - all convenient to the hotel. We bought a 48 hour pass and used it a bunch, even though the train required a separate ticket.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a best room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed at CitizenM for 2 nights during a long weekend break to Amsterdam. We realised that the time we'd be spending at the hotel would be limited, however, we still wanted somewhere comfortable to come back to after a day's exploration of the city. I'm happy to say that CitizenM did not disappoint.

On arrival, your introduction to CitizenM quickly confirms that this isn't your typical hotel. There's a great deal of open space within the lobby area, with TVs, artwork, comfortable chairs, tables, workstations and a large 24hr refreshments area, selling food and hot and cold drinks. There are guests milling around, chatting and relaxing and I have to say that I liked it. It felt informal, friendly and laid-back. The check-in process was largely automated, but there were plenty of staff on hand to help out if needed.

The rooms were like no other that I've stayed in before. Everything is contained within a single space, with the powerful shower and WC enclosed within opening 'capsules'. The bed was incredible - huge and very comfortable. The entertainment provision is excellent, with a large flat-screen TV and a wide selection of channels (including free movies).

The one possible drawback is the hotel's location. It's a 3 minute walk from the WTC square, which would clearly make it ideal if you were visiting those offices on business, but it's a reasonable distance from the city centre. However, you very quickly learn what your options are in terms of transport into the various areas of the capital. There's a tram stop minutes from the hotel that will take you to the museums and galleries (and then allow you to connect to the centre), or you can catch a metro train from the WTC square straight into the heart of the city. Not having the hotel within walking distance of the centre simply means that you need to plan your day a bit more wisely and know how you're going to get back in the evening...and there are always cabs. I would also add that the hotel is very easy to get to from the airport - only 3 or 4 stops on the train - it's really not worth paying for a taxi. Check the location details on the hotel's website for more info.

The area around CitizenM doesn't have much in the way of entertainment, particularly on the weekend when the nearby offices are shut. Again, this didn't really cause a problem, as the hotel 'lobby' is perfect for sitting in and relaxing and refreshments are available from the 24hr cafe. Furthermore, I'd imagine that most guests will be heading into the centre for their entertainment.

CitizenM met our requirements perfectly and did it with style, comfort and convenience. It would be perfect for those who intend to spend most of their time in the city and only really need to come back to the hotel to sleep. Overall, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

It was so beyond any expectations, I couldn't even start describing...
Small room with 2x2 meters bed and two glass towers with crazy lights-one is a toilet, another one is a shower!! I must admit, big bed was my favourite part of the room, and lovely big pillows!! A remote control lights, curtains, wake up call.. Checking in and out involves no staff, free pc's in the lobby, also free wifi and no surcharge for movies.
Trust me, just go there, and experience it yourself!! Next time when I'm in Amsterdam, I know where I'll be staying for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed 5 nights - located in Zuid area 1 train stop from Zuid Station and a 4 block walk to hotel. Located 10-15 minutes from Centraal area, but the tram is right across the street and goes every 10 minutes and is also on the night bus line - so I found it a nice place to nip into the heart of the city, but Zuid area has a nice upscale neighbourhood feel . Not much for places to eat immediately around the area, but canteen area has sushi and indian dishes as well as basic breakast and sandwiches, which is better than vending machines! Once you get a feel for the city you realize food is only a couple of tram stops away.

This rooms only accommadate 1-2 people but they are definitely hip, funky and trendy. TV has games, free movies, music, sattelite radio, and sattelite tv. The bed is deceptively comfortable and large (7 feet by 7 feet) found it difficult crawling out of bed some days as it was so comfy! The space pod rain shower was roomy and also very nice. The moodpad allows you to change the lights to different themes and colors, control the room temperature, and wakeup alarm lighting. There was a dresser drawer in the bed that easily fit all my suitcase contents. Whenever I stay in Amsterdam again, this will always be my first choice!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed at the CitizenM for a conference at RAI. The proximity to the conference was great, though the hotel is a little out of the city center (access via tram is great, as long as you catch the return before 00:30). The hotel itself is fun, lively and modern, with a very helpful staff and a bar/cafe area that always has a decent crowd. Enjoyed the stay and will be back next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

Most unique hotel I've stayed at. Loved the fun design-lead style . Not so far from the city center. Quirky with a sense of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.