We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for the business traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for the business traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I could not have found a better place to stay for my business trip in Amsterdam. Everything is neat, efficient and functional. Particularly enjoyed the multiple work areas, with power plugs, free WIFI, and Mac stations. The ambiance is also very modern and posh, without being excessive. Entering the hotel, one gets the impression of entering a select private club.
The room size was actually quite adequate. Having visited my colleagues who booked downtown (Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw: old, tiny, dorm like) for quite a bit more expensive, my room appeared like a palace. The bed was nice and wide (real king size, not 2 twins put together), the entertainment system was easy to use, and the shower and bathroom pods were very functional.
The only thing that wasn't great is the food selection. They are forthcoming, however in letting you know that they offer "canteen" food on their website. Not a huge selection of warm food, but the coffee is good.

I appreciated the location, in a nice quite neighborhood, walking distance to the train station, the tram station and quaint little shops. It's 20 minutes by tram to downtown Amsterdam, and ~10 minutes from the museums. Very convenient, but without the loudness of the tourists and party goers.

Overall had a most enjoyable time at the Citizen M. Would definitely book back there if I ever have the pleasure of going back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,398
    905
    189
    55
    34
See reviews for
116
1323
231
544
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Contemporary furnishings, big comfy bed, laid back yet helpful staff and great coffee makes this a great hotel.
It's a 20 minute tram journey to the centre, but the stop is only round the corner from the hotel and it's only one train stop form the airport, so that's also convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

On a business trip to A'dam this is a great choice. Unlike many other places I've stayed in the city, CitizenM is nice and quiet, with a good set of amenities that make a business traveler's life easy. The rooms are small and funky, but I liked that for a couple of nights. The lobby was busy with other travelers and check in/out was a breeze. Breakfast was reasonable and the large cup of strong coffee was a welcome change. One complaint - the clothes ironing station (tucked behind the door to housekeeping) was lousy. With all the cool things CitM is doing for guests, I would have expected a nice portable ironing station for cleaning up my business clothes. With a little creativity, that could change from a negative to a positive. For runners, some of the main paths around the city are right out the door - very nice for beating jetlag with a jog.

Room Tip: Garden view side room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgabat, Turkmenistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Room setting and lighting set the mood for couple lovemaking... transparent shower glass...good for honeymooner.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I brought my boyfriend to Amsterdam as a birthday surprise, i booked this hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor and the reasonable price. I was not disappointed. We arrived at Zuid transtation and were surprised at how close we were to the hotel. As other travellers have mentioned there is self service check-in but the staff available to help you are probably the friendlist and most helpful we have ever come across.

The room is small, but contains everything you need in a funky atmosphere, the bed is AMAZING so huge and comfy and the free movies are a nice touch. There is also free Wifi throughout the hotel and free access to MAC Computers in the lobby. The hotel is stylishly designed with different areas to sit depending on your mood. The cafe bar is open 24/7! Not a great selection on food but enough for a snack.

After the hotel being such train journey from the airport and sort walk from the train station I wasn't holding out much hope that travel to the centre would be as quick or easy...I was very wrong. The number 5 tram leaves from literally outside the hotel, they are unbelieveably frequent and will have you at the museum / entertainment district in 10 mins and into central station in about 20. We got a 4 day tram pass for €19. There is a one, two and three day option on this as well and I would highly recommend them as you can get anywhere in the city by tram.

The only negative I would have (and it's not a huge thing) is that the room could be a little warmer. The temperature only goes up to 23 degrees and sometimes it just didn't seem that the air coming out was that warm and there is no option to turn it off!

All in all if your looking for something funky and different with amazing staff and easy transport to airport and centre of town I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011 via mobile

Was slightly concerned to look at a map of the centre the night before we went and to find out was not on it. But actually was perfect, close to the airport, close to the train st when getting train from airport and right next to tram station to take you to museums in a few stops and the centre in a few more. Saw the lobby from outside and thought it was lovely then realised it was our hotel. The lobby is designed in a cool, relaxed way and we used it to relax and read and have a beer rather than dress up and pose like some more stuffy places we've stayed. The furniture and style was beyond the price of the rooms I would say. 24 hrdrinks and food available, healthy interesting options not just junk food. Free Internet in lobby but was very slow. Computer check in with friendly staff standing by. No problem to check in very early and were fine when we accidentally checked out a bit late. I liked the rooms but it was always really chilly in it and a banging noise started early morning on 2 days, hopefully just one off noise and not factory next door. Despite this am a convert, it's not 5 star but it's not 5 star prices and the compromise is only size not cleanliness or style. Would stay here again and have recommended it to others. Don't come with someone you're not really comfortable with though, the loo is in a pod but it's just frosted glass and it's in front of the bed, same applies to the shower!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

All the things that are extra like wi-fi etc are free. Bedrooms are as good as it gets in a business hotel. The staff are better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.