We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cannot fault this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for my birthday and had the most wonderful time. The whole hotel is funky and very well designed. The rooms are small but perfectly formed. The bathroom in the room adds to it rather than being an issue. I have never slept in such a large comfortable bed and the mood pad meant I spent little time out of it! The range of free films was vast and extensive with something for anyone, there were also free calls (but I was told this won't last forever!) The staff were incredibly helpful and the iMacs in the lobby free to use was a nice touch. The shop in the lobby was a little pricey but really wells stocked and helpful if you are peckish at 3am! People have said the location is a little far from the city, and it is about a 20min tram ride, but the tram stops just outside the hotel and departs regularly from the city. The hotel isn't in the middle of nowhere, it is situated in what looked like the business district with the world trade centre and a few restaurants and a supermarket round the corner. I am waiting for CitizenM to open more locations so I can stay in other places!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,640
    1,045
    220
    61
    36
See reviews for
138
1,508
269
637
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Just a fantastic hotel for tech savvy younger travelers. I loved almost everything about this hotel. The staff as you first walked in were unbelievably friendly and the rooms while being small were perfectly comfy with a king size bed and the cool showers and toilets. This hotel seemed like it genuinely got the younger generation and im sure will be very successful.

The only comment i would make that takes this place away from being perfect was that in the 24 hour cafe section in the lobby it seemed they kept some of their pastrys there a little long while not being covered with little flies hanging around. Very minor, but something a small piece of netting wouldn't fix very easily.

All in all i would score this hotel 95%, absolutely loved it and would definitely go back if in Amsterdam again soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I have on may occasions stayed at the CitizenM at Schiphol so decided to also try the Amsterdam City location when I had a business meeting close to it. the hotel is located around 5 minutes walk from the station Amsterdam Zuid (and tram number 5, and possible a few other trams). Fairly easy to find and the location is fairly ok (less than 10 minutes to Schiphol and around 15minutes to the city centre by public transport).

The concept is the same as all CitizenM hotels; fairly ok rates, automated check-in, small but functional rooms and good technical features.

The rooms are small with large and very comfortable beds. Storage space is limited but for one or two nights it is sufficient. There is a remote control (pad) that can control TV, light (color as well as brightness), blinds, heat etc.

The rooms do feature free on demand movies as well as wifi. There are also computers as well as a printer available downstairs (all free of charge). The rooms do miss some space to sit and work but if the bed or small chair provided are not sufficient there is space to work at ground floor.

The least favorite part of the hotel is the expensive and not very good food -eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

trendy,modern,stylish, very nice sitting area,amazing bed,excellent city view,everything was great

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two night stay at CitizenM hotel in Amsterdam City.

The hotel provided everything you needed for a citybreak - it was clean, had a super comfortable bed, had quiet surroundings and simple access to the city centre (the number 5 tram stop was literally 50 metres from the hotel entrance).

The shower and toilet took a bit of getting used to - but the shower was amazing....

Staff were all friendly and happy to help and we even managed to check in early, which was great, given the times of our flights...

Key tip would be if you're flying in from Schipol get the train to Zuid rather than Central...it's 5 minutes walk from Zuid station which in itself is under 10 mins from Schipol....(if you're using the yellow ticket machines at the airport it's Amsterdam Zuid you look for....2.60euro for a single each).

All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

CitizenM Amsterdam City is a five minute walk from Station Zuid mainline and metro and right next to the number 5 tram stop - so you're looking at about 20 minutes to get right into the centre. The hotel is also on the night bus route so no problems getting back late at night. Get a travel pass from one of the machines at Station Zuid - valid on trams, metro and buses including the night bus service.

Hotel was easy to find and as I was on an early incoming flight it was great that I could check in straight away at 10.30am. Check in is all self service, there was a member of staff there to help but she was helping someone else so I didn't get a greeting at all or any contact with the staff

The funny thing about check in was the option of 'garden view' or 'city view' ... the first being directly into the block of flats on one side, the other the street ... throughout the hotel, there are lots of quirky and humourous statements and I'm not sure whether this was meant to be one of them ...

The rooms are all the same - quirky and small ... They are great if you are on your own and staying for only a couple of days. I didn't find the mood system as exciting as some other reviewers ... it was fun for a few minutes, but quickly became a little annoying as often it was unresponsive

The rooms are small, no other word for it. But they serve their purpose. Storage space is VERY poor - a tiny rack with 3 hangers on it - this was just about enough for me for 2 days, but any longer and with two people in a room it wouldnt have been enough. The only other storage is the big drawer under the bed where I ended up having to throw everything

Standard European hotel so there was no kettle in room (there would have been nowhere for it anyway!). Toilet and shower are just in the middle of the room ... frosted pull round doors on toilet and clear on shower ... so if you are sharing, make sure you know the person really well or it could be a little uncomfortable .. As per other reviews, if you want to do any work in your room, there is nowhere to do this other that laying on the bed

I had a look in the cafe/bar downstairs - a reasonable selection of sandwiches and other snacks but very overpriced and the quality was distinctly average. I ordered a coffee to take away and that was €3.50 ! Given that the room rates are good, they seem to be trying to get this back by charging far too much downstairs

There are restaurants and cafes and a few small shops on the area - head back to Station Zuid and go through to the other side. Take note that as this is a business area, a lot of places are closed there at weekends (this also includes the transport office)

Wifi in the hotel is excellent - free, connects first time and good strong signal. There are also four free terminals in the lobby with a printer that actually works and was also free (other hotels take note - wifi is not an oportunity to make money !!)

All in all a good hotel if you can secure a good room rate. It's not overly central so one to avoid if you don't want to spend a lot of time on public transport. A lot of effort has gone into the hotel design and when I visited, it still looked clean and fresh. Less effort seems to have gone on staff interaction - apart from ordering a coffee, I hardly had any acknowledgement from the staff although there were plenty of them around.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The citizenM is a stylish hotel with some drawbacks, you have to know. On the positive site, very friendly staff and clean hotel, with modern furniture in the huge lobby. In the room you find one of the greatest hotel beds, I've ever slept in. And in addition, free wi-fi in the hotel. On the negative site, in the stylish hotel room you will miss some known features, like a closet for your stuff, a room telephone or a mini bar. But the most unusual feature are the toilets and showers in the middle of the room, which are only separated by glass walls. So, for sure, you have to know the partner, you share the room with, very well. If you take a shower, and someone opens the door to the hotel room, everybody can see you from the outside.

Another drawback is the typical Amsterdam parking situation. There are now hotel parking lots available, instead you have to pay 21 EUR in coins for the parking outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Hi “metatraveller”,

I’m glad you had a good stay with us and I hope you will allow me to comment on some of the observations.

The citizenM room was designed for a short city stay and instead of unpacking everything, a suitcase can be easily accommodated under the bed, in a large drawer. We agree you will enjoy most the room if you are comfortable with your partner however, no one will ever be able to enter in your room if you lock the door from the inside. There is a telephone just next to the Moodpad, and it makes phone calls with a rate we believe is fair, similar to skype (around or less than 0,05€ to anywhere in the World), no hassle of dialing codes to get a line, it is dial and talk!

As you go to the kitchen in your home for a drink or food, at citizenM you can go downstairs to the canteenM, open 24/7 for your convenience.

Amsterdam is not a parking-friendly city, unfortunately, and while in front of the hotel costs 21€/day (Mon-Sat. Sun is free), there is park-ride option 2 Km away, for 6€/day, including a public transportation ticket.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.