We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Som Tam Thai

Som Tam Thai
2e Goudsbloemdwarsstraat 24, 1015 JZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-638 2530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,223 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Rota, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this our first night in Amsterdam and we're blown away by every dish that came out of the kitchen. Service was quick, staff were friendly and the food was so amazing, we went back again before the end of our trip and we never repeat restaurants on vacation. Thank you for the delicious meals!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“One of the best places for Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and me with our three children went out to have a nice dinner at a nice place when we came across this little oriental Thai restaurant. The food was amazing. My wife always afraid that the Pad Thai is to oily, the way it is served in Thailand. It was perfect and didn't have too much oil at all. My shrimps in red curry were amazing, I like then very much. We really enjoyed this lovely little place and we will defiantly go back on our next trip to Amsterdam.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Tiny little place, great food, lively owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

After a week of looking at menus featuring fried croquettes of cheese, ground meat, cheese and more cheese we were thrilled to find this little place. We had stir fry vegies and pad Thai with tofu. They call tofu fried soybeans, just for information. We would definitely return. Very yummy. And no cheese- fried or otherwise!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler , TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Couldn't get enough of this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice. But portions are so big we had 4 meals, one was breakfast!

Made fresh only after you order. Nothing we had was short of excellent.
Great selection
Very friendly staff.
Eat here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We where walking in the Jordaan and look where we can eat some thai food. We saw this restaurant looked at the menu and go insite to eat. It's a small restaurant. The food was verry good and we go back again. They have also a take away. If you don't have time to stay get something for home. Enjoy your meal!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Som Tam Thai also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Som Tam Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Som Tam Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.