We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saturnino

Saturnino
Reguliersdwarsstraat 5, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 639 0102
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with Seatme
Saturnino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #573 of 2,579 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Cafe, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Good Italian restaurant in the centre of Amsterdam Gets extremely busy so a reservation is recommended. They are very accommodating and will gladly make changes to dishes to suit you.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    105
    29
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very poor service throughout the evening.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Made our decision to go here based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor. Were greeted by a loud maitre d' who proclaimed how busy they were and told we could take a table on the mezzanine floor if we wished. Sat alone on the mezzanine floor without a menu or any further contact with a member of staff. Finally a female member of staff noticed us on her way to the back rooms and provided menu. Restaurant was filling up fast by this time and our order was taken. From that point on we were again "persona non grata" Once the food arrived there was no interest from the staff - no check back to see if we were happy or needed any thing else, no bread, oil or water provided whilst we waited.

Plates cleared, no offer of dessert or coffee or the bill. Basically no pleasant interaction - full stop. Finally we managed to flag down a passing member of staff to get the bill and we left - thankful to have escaped such rudeness.

Obviously they can sometimes get it right from reading other satisfied reviews but NOT ON THE NIGHT WHICH WE WENT !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tasting Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Based on the venue being packed out, we decided to give the place a go to great success! The service was only beaten by the food which came quickly considering how busy it was, the portions were generous and most of all it tasted fantastic. Great value and generally delicious! Desserts were even better. A great Italian!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I highly recommend you walk past this place...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Last night in amsterdam, and went here because it was relatively highly rated. Service was not poor, it was non-existent. Other tables were served, offered bread, offered oil and vinegar for salad, we got nothing, never spoken to, never asked if we wanted anything, in fact ignored the whole two hours we were there. In the end we got the bill by physically stopping a passing waiter. Never had such an appalling experience, it was comically bad. I have not rated the service, as terrible does not really do it justice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The restuarant was recently sold and from what I understand is still Italian. It was so good and the previous owner was terrific. Heard that it is still good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saturnino also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Saturnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saturnino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.