We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saturnino

Saturnino
Reguliersdwarsstraat 5, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 639 0102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #320 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Café, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great tasting Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Based on the venue being packed out, we decided to give the place a go to great success! The service was only beaten by the food which came quickly considering how busy it was, the portions were generous and most of all it tasted fantastic. Great value and generally delicious! Desserts were even better. A great Italian!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    82
    68
    16
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I highly recommend you walk past this place...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Last night in amsterdam, and went here because it was relatively highly rated. Service was not poor, it was non-existent. Other tables were served, offered bread, offered oil and vinegar for salad, we got nothing, never spoken to, never asked if we wanted anything, in fact ignored the whole two hours we were there. In the end we got the bill by physically stopping a passing waiter. Never had such an appalling experience, it was comically bad. I have not rated the service, as terrible does not really do it justice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The restuarant was recently sold and from what I understand is still Italian. It was so good and the previous owner was terrific. Heard that it is still good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Large portions and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We walked past this place by a coincidence and since it was the only restaurant with a crowd inside we chose it. Ordered a assorted antipasto for two which was more than enough. We had to cancel one of our pizzas and ended up sharing the other.

Note that small beers are better value than large.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Amsterdam - Service Failed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We discovered this lovely Italian restaurant while walking around Amsterdam and decided to return on a Wednesday evening during our city break.
We had booked therefore were expected and we were given a lovely table in the window, the young waiter was friendly, efficient and helpful. We ordered our meal and were served our starters which were excellent, then it all went downhill from a service point of view. Our waiter was sent home, probably end of his shift or because they weren't busy.
Our pizza's were served by the manager/owner? and he didn't seem quite as friendly and when asked for chilli oil he took some time to return with it, although we could see its station from our table.
Whilst this is a 3 star review, I have to say these pizzas were among the best we have ever had - fresh ingredients and authentic italian style - we ate every last piece. During this time we did not see another member of staff, we finished our meal, sat for 10 minutes and still did not see the manager or staff, we both went to the loo hoping to seek them out on our way and still nobody....following 20 minutes of finishing our meal, he returned without an apology for disregarding us completely, did not ask if we would have liked a dessert - which we would have done!...so after another 15 minutes when a member of the staff finally walked by we asked for the bill, paid and showed ourselves out....still confused why we were ignored, unwelcomed and made to feel like we'd put them out!
We were in at 8pm, we left at 9.45pm - surely this isn't closing up time - manager should make his customers feel welcome, the young waiter was fantastic, obviously has great experience in job from a previous place....would return just for the excellent pizzas!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saturnino also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Saturnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saturnino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.