We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice romantic atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nevy

Nevy
Westerdoksdijk 40, 1013 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,410 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice romantic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It is located on the Amstel with a beautiful view. The outside seating area is romantically lit with candles in the evening. We were a group of about 20 people. The inside of restaurant had a simple but very well kept decore. Food was nice with a variety ranging from steaks to seafood. Service was quick. The only negative thing i could say really was the fact that when ordering steak no one asked how we would like it cooked. I'm not used to eating rare cooked steak. And when we asked if it could be cooked for longer, it was taken and returned again in a still undercooked state. Dessert was very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    35
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went to Nevy for lunch during Restaurant Week, and it was really nice. It was a breezy sunny day, and the view was just gorgeous. The service was attentive and friendly, and one of the servers (the chef, I believe) explained our courses as they came. Our (main) server was also very good at refilling our (tap) water, and kindly accommodated three changes in tables (too sunny, too breezy, just right). The food, especially the salad with marinated salmon and the dessert with fresh ice cream, was excellent. We enjoyed every bite, the service, and the atmosphere, immensely. We'd definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The service is very good... didn't wait long, on the contrary of what I saw in other reviews.. the food is very nice... did not have any sea food... just meat... but well cooked fresh...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“the setting is superb, the food doesn't match ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The luxurious waterside setting of Nevy , luxe interiors, leaves you hoping the food to live up to the surroundings ..... helaas, not quite .. there is 'lack of inventiveness' in the menu, and the dishes we ate that evening could only be classed 'average' ... :-(
Service was very pleasant (only a handful of tables eating that evening, for such a large place) and the idea of 'restant' bottles of wine at reduced prices, is a 'good' one ..
We will go with friends and give it another go -- such great location deserves another 'try' ..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great setting, staff & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This restaurant focusses on fish, right next to the IJ river but also does great meat dishes. The setting is fabulous both inside and out. Have a great dinner in the modern indoor restaurant and then relax in the outdoor chill area. Watch the ships pass by, from the regular transport boats to the enormous cruise liners.
The restaurant is just 200 meters outside the main city centre area but also very close to it. Certainly worth while considering the young but attentive staff, nice food and excellent views.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevy also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Nevy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.