We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy / Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nevy

Nevy
Westerdoksdijk 40, 1013 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,407 of 2,460 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Trendy / Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

On the edge of the sea, a bit out of the centre, chic white interior gives quite a young and trendy feel. The service was excellent, the waiting staff very knowledgeable. I had the chefs 3 course menu selection which was superb, with loverly fresh flavours at around E30. In terms of food quality, taste etc, this must be one of the best in the city for fish. Given we visited on a very wet October evening, in the summer I think it would be an even nicer spot for a lovely fishy evening out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    35
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view and fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I must admit that it was the view and atmosphere that impressed me the most. Nevy is a fish restaurant with panorama windows situated at the waterfront. The interior is mostly a modern "glass and steel" look in an open setting.
Not to forget the food and wine.. no complaints there.. it was fine food and regular wines to choose from. I dont think it was a gastronomic revelation but I found it OK and with the whole setting I can recommend to stop by

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived without a reservation and durring a special "restaurant night".
The food was lovely. The room was lovely. The staff were very professional and friendly.
Chic, stylish and relaxing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun eat on the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Food good, great atmosphere. Not inexpensive. Will come back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were told it was one of the best restaurants in town.

Appart from the nice decoration and candle light ambiance, we felt really disappointed.

The food is mediocre and the service, although friendly, is mediocre as well.

We had to wait one hour to get the main course and the restaurant was half empty. We had to wait another 30 minutes to get the dessert.

Will not come back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevy also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Nevy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.