We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch, lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,468 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Sandwiches, English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
ennis=ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very good lunch, lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

We enjoyed a most tasty and pleasant lunch in cosy surrounding, quirky but very pretty, with inside and outside seating. Selection was good, taste was great. Overall very happy. We were there at peak lunch time on a Friday, so it was very busy, and service was a little bit slow. No fault on staff, I'd say the volume of orders had the kitchen snowed under. I would return and can recommend the venue

  • Visited May 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    270
    42
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

After waiting for almost an hour in line, we set down for lunch. The service was good and the waitress was very nice and quick. The food itself was disappointing. We really could not understand the fuss other reviewers made about this place. Definitely overpriced for the very simple and mediocre dishes they serve. Do the math...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Busy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

We ate here after checking into our apartment almost nest door. The choice of brunch was excellent including full English served the Dutch way. Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs came with horseradish which was a tasty addition good value for money and worth queuing.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Full English Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

If you are in Amsterdam please try this place! It is an amazing breakfast, with fabulous service too. You may have to queue but it's really worth it. I can't recommend any higher!

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We had to wait a bit for a table but the staff was very nice. Food was excellent and a nice value. Would definitely return for a nice hearty breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.