We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,528 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

Came here for breakfast with some friends during a weekend trip to Amsterdam and loved it. I had the eggs benedict with mushrooms at the recommendation of our waitress and it was phenomenal. I also recommend their homemade soda bread. Cost was around 15 euro a person with food and coffee.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    254
    40
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

We stayed with friends in Amsterdam for a couple of weeks and they recommended Greenwoods. Little did we know it would become our favourite haunt.

The food is impeccable and service from the girls is great, we met Olivia, she was lovely and very attentive.

Sometimes there is a small wait for a table, but that just goes to show the quality and popularity of the restaurant. Alternatively you could sit outside, right next to the canal and often not have to wait!

Our tip: Try the lamb burger with a ginger beer on the side!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favourite cafe in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

Amazing food, lovely staff and a great location! Prices are very reasonable for the quality and quantity of food. The scones were unforgettable :)

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food was faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

We visited this place for brunch, love the decor, cool chilled out atmosphere. We had English tea which was lovely in a pot. The food was amazing the best place we ate in Amsterdam, I had the steak sandwhich.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast, a must visit in Amsterdam.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I found this on TripAdvisor, looking for an alternative to an expensive 18 Euro hotel breakfast. What a find, a tiny little restaurant, only has probably 15 tables. When I got there is was packed but we waited 10 minutes for a table. The place was busy but had a lovely feeling, the food looked looked amazing.So glad we stayed. A full English breakfast, lovely coffee, Egg Omelette with Bacon and a hot chocolate and believe it or not slice of Lemon Meringue pie ( it looked amazing and just had to be had eaten !!) All for less that 30 Euro. A great attentive service, good quality food and full of locals, say no more.... loved it.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.