We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to get some good nosh!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103 | 1012 VG, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,299 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little place to get some good nosh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Saw this rated on trip advisor - and realised that we had walked past its busy terrace area for the last few mornings - so had to try it out!
Was lovely to sit outside next to the canal in the morning sun, breakfast was lovely - esp the soda bread! Service was excellent - attentive Aussie girl, who to be fair, had a large number of customers, and handled them well and very welcoming!
Tables are very close together, so you can blatantly hear what the couple, next to you, are talking about, but this just added to the cosy, friendly feel of the place! Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    201
    38
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst place i've been in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

Its extremely small place all tables are pretty much attached to one another, they fitted us in a table, and then added people to our table(!!).

The fork and knife were terribly filthy, you could see egg left overs on the fork, when I asked to replace it, they gave me a different filthy fork and knife, its a poor meal we had omelet and ham, and its overpriced.

If I could take it back, I would cancel my go there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW via mobile

Such a delicious lunch at an outrageously cheap price. The amount of cheese served with both our meals was so impressive! Excellent cafe.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice little place for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

Me and a friend decided to try this place based on the good tripadvisor reviews. When we first arrived on the Saturday the place was to busy and there was a queue of people outside. Obviously they all had the same idea as ourselves so we decided to go somewhere else. We went back later on through the week to try their full english breakfast. There was a slight wait to get served by the staff even though it was not that busy. When the breakfast arrived it was well presented and really nice. I think the price was around £10 euros which seems quite expensive but the quality was obviously better than other cheaper places. My only gripe was that because it is such a small place, there wasn't that many seats and it felt a bit to crammed in. For example, there was another person sat right next to me whilst I was eating which I find a bit annoying as I like a bit of personal space. It seemed like a bit of a task to try and fit everything on the table when the breakfast arrived. Apart from that we both enjoyed the breakfast and would probably return if we visit Amsterdam again. The staff were really pleasant and approachable.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great English breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW

Visited for breakfast and lunch. Great English breakfast. Had a steak for lunch. Was concerned about ordering steak. No need to worry, cooked to perfection (medium rare). A massive good quality steak. Try the soda bread. It's so good.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.