We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet oasis in the center of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,542 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Sandwiches, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis in the center of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have been to Greenwoods for a Sunday brunch in August. This small restaurant is very close to Leidseplein and it is the perfect place if you want to have a quiet meal outside the mess of the popular square.
I sat inside because the outiside tables were all taken, but the experience was nevertheless unique. The service is extremely good, timely and polite; the food is varied, and the best thing is the fact that you can order breakfast ALL DAY LONG! I ordered a full English breakfast and it was great.
They also have a broad variety of teas and some very appealing desserts. I will definitely come back to Greenwoods!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    830
    309
    46
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good for breakfeast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We ate egg Benedict and egg with spinach. Egg Benedict was by far the better choice. Place is small so better to have reservation or go before 11 a.m. to find a place or you have to wait. Service is a bit slow like every other restaurants in Amsterdam. If you have time limits you can try another place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We really enjoyed the food we had here! My husband had a full English, and I had Eggs Benedict :) Would recommend both! Hope to return again soon before we leave Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Organic charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great scones with clutted butter. Marvellous sandwiches we will try to reproduce at home. Will not be easy, though.

Worth the visit!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch done very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We actually went in search of this restaurant as part of our stay in Amsterdam. We had lunch there but it was clear from other customers that breakfast is the most popular food served. No matter, it was very good and plentiful. The service was good even though they were very busy. It is very comfortable and had some interesting books to peruse while waiting for your food. They have a daily special menu board and a decent menu for a canal side cafe. The meatball sandwich was the size of a baseball and tasted great.
Highly recommend you give them a try. We will be back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.