We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for breakfeast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 2,480 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good for breakfeast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We ate egg Benedict and egg with spinach. Egg Benedict was by far the better choice. Place is small so better to have reservation or go before 11 a.m. to find a place or you have to wait. Service is a bit slow like every other restaurants in Amsterdam. If you have time limits you can try another place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    244
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the food we had here! My husband had a full English, and I had Eggs Benedict :) Would recommend both! Hope to return again soon before we leave Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Organic charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great scones with clutted butter. Marvellous sandwiches we will try to reproduce at home. Will not be easy, though.

Worth the visit!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch done very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We actually went in search of this restaurant as part of our stay in Amsterdam. We had lunch there but it was clear from other customers that breakfast is the most popular food served. No matter, it was very good and plentiful. The service was good even though they were very busy. It is very comfortable and had some interesting books to peruse while waiting for your food. They have a daily special menu board and a decent menu for a canal side cafe. The meatball sandwich was the size of a baseball and tasted great.
Highly recommend you give them a try. We will be back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful full english breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

One of my biggest needs in amsterdam is a nice breakfast to set me up for the day and im so glad i discovered greenwoods and it was only minutes from our hotel. The service was quick and the staff were very polite and the food was fantastic, we both had the full breakfast and we both had empty plates. Washed down with a pot of tea its sure to be a place ill be back to. Thank you all at greenwood.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.