We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place with an excellent menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103 | 1012 VG, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,298 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great little place with an excellent menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Lovely place which serves a very good variety for vegetarians. Superb taste and matched by very friendly service compared to most Dutch restaurants. Family friendly and welcoming to kids. They should buy the property next door and expand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    200
    38
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We visited this cafe four times on our weekend break to Amsterdam for breakfast, linch twice and dinner and every meal was brilliant easily one of the best café's I have ever been too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cute little place for a quick bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were nicely surprised by the service,friendly staff and excellent food prepared for us at Greenwoods.All looked really fresh,tasted delicious and the presentation was amazing.I wouldn't mind having all of our meals there,a little bit like going to someone's own little kitchen.Very quaint and warm atmosphere.Please stick around,we will be back:-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brillant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The foods here is delicious and very reasonably priced. The staff are lovely and chatty. I would recommend this to everyone
Also they do the best English breakfast tea, the best I came across in Amsterdam.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing meal in beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We popped into this little tea room mostly to get out of the rain and it turned out to be one of our most pleasant and experiences and (hands down) the best meal we had in our entire holiday. The waitress was great - she recommended meals to suit the weather when one person in our party ordered a cold salad, she recommended interesting beers to sample (one of which wasn't on the menu), and even have some tips on where we could go out in Amsterdam on a rainy Tuesday night.
The food was nothing short of incredible. Excellent value for money and simply delicious and beautifully presented. My travel companions had the lamb burger and I had the portobello mushroom. Fresh, well selected ingredients, great atmosphere and excellent service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;