We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103 | 1012 VG, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I were on a short stay in Amsterdam and went to Greenwoods two mornings in a row. We had to wait maybe 15 minutes for a table inside but it was worth it. We tried the full english breakfast, eggs benedict and eggs florentine. It was the without a doubt the best breakfast we've ever tasted. It were busy mornings and the staff had their hands full but they were very friendly and the service was excellent. If you're planning a trip to Amsterdam you have to put Greenwoods on your to-do list!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    522
    180
    37
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere - Great food (For Holland)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A recent visit to Amsterdam and we were looking for a place for some brunch. I looked on tripadvisor and found this wonderful gem. According the tripadvisor, it was ranked #4 of 2,205 with over 500 reviews. Can't go wrong right?

I ordered the eggs Benedict and the full English breakfast - eggs were requested medium. We also had earl grey tea which was quite pleasant. The eggs were overcooked, and it wasn't a one time thing. My friend who accompanied me also ordered the eggs Benedict. The eggs were poached for far too long. Also my "over medium" eggs were well done also.

The food was still good, but not having runny eggs with eggs Benedict is just not the same. The service was good considering it was Europe and their desserts and coffee drinks were amazing. Just a shame that the eggs were overdone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We tried to start our day here but the restaurant doesn't open until 930 so we stopped in for Brunch after a visit to the Van Gogh museum. Excellent and fresh eggs and sandwiches. Full English breakfast, eggs Benedict, BLT's , Frites, fresh squeezed OJ served in a small intimate friendly "basement " location with seating for about 8 people on the first floor. Friendly and helpful staff and a nice option for breakfast, brunch or lunch.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greenwoods English Tea Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a cosy little place facing the canal and always seem so busy, which is a good sign for a restaurant. The food was delicious, worth the wait and priced very reasonable. They bake their bread on site, ours was still warm when it came to the table and the best organic rye loaf I've had. The staff a very friendly. Grandmas' meatball is very tasty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You have to try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had to wait to get a table outside but it was worth every minute! Amazing food, generous portions, reasonable price, great staff, good location! Go there!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.