We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast lunch Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103 | 1012 VG, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“breakfast lunch Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came here after reading these reviews. On arrival to Amsterdam I felt there was a huge lack of decent places to go for lunch.Ended up in MC ds. So pleased we found this place. There was a 30 minute queue but this was Sunday lunch time. It is very small max 20 persons inside at full capacity. The food was of a very high quality. We ate the eggs benedict FAB! full english bfast great. Club sandwich they gave us 2 sandwiches on a plate. The homemade baked cheesecake was perfect! went back on Monday still busy but no queue. We both ate the meatballs with salad. Very nice. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    550
    192
    38
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, view and waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great quality food. We just had a giant meatball and club sandwich. Super quality food and the waitress really accommodated the fact that we were in a rush for a doctor appointment. Great place for lunch or brekky. No licence for alcohol.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We ate here three times on our recent trip to Amsterdam. The omelettes, quiche, tea, hot chocolate and scones are all excellent. The staff are very friendly. Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband, two friends and myself visited this little cafe after reading good reviews. It is down the side on one of the main canals. It is very small but despite the fact that there were people waiting each time we visited, we were seated rather quickly.

The poached eggs looked amazing so we ordered the salmon, plain and one with bacon and ham. My husband had the mackerel salad on the first visit. The eggs were lovely and huge and very fresh (you can tell from the colour). There was plenty of spinach and lashings of a very delicious hollondaise sauce poured over the top. My husbands salad was plentiful and he enjoyed it. My companions also really enjoyed the sour dough bread.

The service was quick and friendly. If you have to wait outside like we did for a few minutes, they provide lovely blankets for your comfort which we thought was a lovely thoughtful touch, We returned the next morning where we all had the eggs Benedict or Royale, etc. My only criticism and I have to be completely honest in my review, is that the eggs could sometimes be slightly undercooked (I do not like runny whites and one gentleman next to us had to send his back as they were quite undercooked), saying that, I did just scrape what little of mine was undercooked to one side to enjoy the rest of the otherwise lovely cooked food.

This place is popular for good reason and well worth a visit for breakfast or brunch/lunch as the food will more than satisfy you for most of the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice for lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, cozy place, by the canal. Healthy and very good quality food.
Nice views of Canal. Good choice for lunch.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.