We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, view and waitress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,537 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Sandwiches, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food, view and waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great quality food. We just had a giant meatball and club sandwich. Super quality food and the waitress really accommodated the fact that we were in a rush for a doctor appointment. Great place for lunch or brekky. No licence for alcohol.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    308
    46
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We ate here three times on our recent trip to Amsterdam. The omelettes, quiche, tea, hot chocolate and scones are all excellent. The staff are very friendly. Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband, two friends and myself visited this little cafe after reading good reviews. It is down the side on one of the main canals. It is very small but despite the fact that there were people waiting each time we visited, we were seated rather quickly.

The poached eggs looked amazing so we ordered the salmon, plain and one with bacon and ham. My husband had the mackerel salad on the first visit. The eggs were lovely and huge and very fresh (you can tell from the colour). There was plenty of spinach and lashings of a very delicious hollondaise sauce poured over the top. My husbands salad was plentiful and he enjoyed it. My companions also really enjoyed the sour dough bread.

The service was quick and friendly. If you have to wait outside like we did for a few minutes, they provide lovely blankets for your comfort which we thought was a lovely thoughtful touch, We returned the next morning where we all had the eggs Benedict or Royale, etc. My only criticism and I have to be completely honest in my review, is that the eggs could sometimes be slightly undercooked (I do not like runny whites and one gentleman next to us had to send his back as they were quite undercooked), saying that, I did just scrape what little of mine was undercooked to one side to enjoy the rest of the otherwise lovely cooked food.

This place is popular for good reason and well worth a visit for breakfast or brunch/lunch as the food will more than satisfy you for most of the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice for lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, cozy place, by the canal. Healthy and very good quality food.
Nice views of Canal. Good choice for lunch.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict... veeery gooood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Having brunch here with tea and Eggs Benedict it was a very nice experience. this small Bistrot made us rested in few minutes with its relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.