We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little breakfast place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 2,525 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Wales
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband, two friends and myself visited this little cafe after reading good reviews. It is down the side on one of the main canals. It is very small but despite the fact that there were people waiting each time we visited, we were seated rather quickly.

The poached eggs looked amazing so we ordered the salmon, plain and one with bacon and ham. My husband had the mackerel salad on the first visit. The eggs were lovely and huge and very fresh (you can tell from the colour). There was plenty of spinach and lashings of a very delicious hollondaise sauce poured over the top. My husbands salad was plentiful and he enjoyed it. My companions also really enjoyed the sour dough bread.

The service was quick and friendly. If you have to wait outside like we did for a few minutes, they provide lovely blankets for your comfort which we thought was a lovely thoughtful touch, We returned the next morning where we all had the eggs Benedict or Royale, etc. My only criticism and I have to be completely honest in my review, is that the eggs could sometimes be slightly undercooked (I do not like runny whites and one gentleman next to us had to send his back as they were quite undercooked), saying that, I did just scrape what little of mine was undercooked to one side to enjoy the rest of the otherwise lovely cooked food.

This place is popular for good reason and well worth a visit for breakfast or brunch/lunch as the food will more than satisfy you for most of the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    254
    40
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice for lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, cozy place, by the canal. Healthy and very good quality food.
Nice views of Canal. Good choice for lunch.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict... veeery gooood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Having brunch here with tea and Eggs Benedict it was a very nice experience. this small Bistrot made us rested in few minutes with its relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reiden, Aargau, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The best breakfast in the cityn enouth for all the day! good tea, little but nice place!!! really reccomandet to go. price auso ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited Amsterdam over New Years.. so everywhere was very busy. There were queues out the door (but the cafe was really small so we couldn't fault the place for being so busy) .. after tasting the food it was worth the wait.

There were plenty of seats outside to wait and the waitresses offered tea to keep warm while waiting.. We waited for 5/10 minutes and a waitress came out to tell us that there were 2 seats available inside. We ordered 2 full English breakfasts (with a choice of how we'd like our eggs and what toast we'd prefer) and tea. The food arrived quickly considering how busy the place was. It was absolutely lovely, everything was cooked to perfection and reasonably priced. The service was great. Would definitely recommend this place.

Can't believe the last review faulting the place for being so busy.. as I'm pretty sure the owner wasn't best pleased that they couldn't seat everyone inside and were therefore loosing money. Anybody that saw people sitting outside would assume that it was a queue... We chose to wait as anywhere with queues out the door like that was definitely worth a try and I'm glad we did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.