We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103 | 1012 VG, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 2,144 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Wrexham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited Amsterdam over New Years.. so everywhere was very busy. There were queues out the door (but the cafe was really small so we couldn't fault the place for being so busy) .. after tasting the food it was worth the wait.

There were plenty of seats outside to wait and the waitresses offered tea to keep warm while waiting.. We waited for 5/10 minutes and a waitress came out to tell us that there were 2 seats available inside. We ordered 2 full English breakfasts (with a choice of how we'd like our eggs and what toast we'd prefer) and tea. The food arrived quickly considering how busy the place was. It was absolutely lovely, everything was cooked to perfection and reasonably priced. The service was great. Would definitely recommend this place.

Can't believe the last review faulting the place for being so busy.. as I'm pretty sure the owner wasn't best pleased that they couldn't seat everyone inside and were therefore loosing money. Anybody that saw people sitting outside would assume that it was a queue... We chose to wait as anywhere with queues out the door like that was definitely worth a try and I'm glad we did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    453
    153
    29
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Delicious food, lovely friendly service, highly recommended. You may have to wait for a seat but it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Perfect atmosphere of a cafe that could be perfect in Amsterdam as well as in Paris as well as in Prague. The staff is great, nice and quick. I did really enjoy the incredible food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You know it's great when people wait outside in the cold before it's open!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

2 friends and I were in Amsterdam for a week around NYE time. After reading the other reviews on TripAdvisor I knew it was mandatory to visit. I'm glad others mentioned that we should get there on time for the opening if eating for breakfast, because sure enough, there were enough people there to fill the restaurant before it even opened. Even though the restaurant was filled, there were seats outside which had blankets on the back of the chairs for patrons willing to brave the cold morning to eat there! My two friends had a special omelette with spinach and different cheeses, while I had a veggie omelette. Needless to say, everyone cleaned their plates. However, I wish I had gotten the homemade soda bread that came with my friend's orders! If plain toast comes with your meal, I suggest asking for the soda bread instead!!!! We also had some scones and clotted cream, which were equally amazing (probably the best I've tasted). If you're a tea drinker, definitely order a pot of any of the teas they may have at the moment. Definitely which I had the time to visit again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious start to the day...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Decided to try our Greenwoods after searching Tripadvisor and reading the positive reviews. We were first in the door for breakfast so no wait for a table, just for the staff to finish their coffee before menu arrived, order taken, drinks on the table and then a delicious breakfast delivered. There was not one crumb left on a plate - every order was cooked to perfection, from the reasonable portion of Full English, to the light, fluffy and tasty scrambled eggs. Fresh juice was all natural and the coffees were great too.

If you are in the area and looking for somewhere for breakfast, we highly recommend and Greenwoods won't disappoint in terms of taste and quality. Now the tough decision - go back tomorrow again or try somewhere else? Hopefully either choice delivers another delicious start to the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.