We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103 | 1012 VG, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,279 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Delicious food, lovely friendly service, highly recommended. You may have to wait for a seat but it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    541
    190
    37
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Perfect atmosphere of a cafe that could be perfect in Amsterdam as well as in Paris as well as in Prague. The staff is great, nice and quick. I did really enjoy the incredible food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You know it's great when people wait outside in the cold before it's open!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

2 friends and I were in Amsterdam for a week around NYE time. After reading the other reviews on TripAdvisor I knew it was mandatory to visit. I'm glad others mentioned that we should get there on time for the opening if eating for breakfast, because sure enough, there were enough people there to fill the restaurant before it even opened. Even though the restaurant was filled, there were seats outside which had blankets on the back of the chairs for patrons willing to brave the cold morning to eat there! My two friends had a special omelette with spinach and different cheeses, while I had a veggie omelette. Needless to say, everyone cleaned their plates. However, I wish I had gotten the homemade soda bread that came with my friend's orders! If plain toast comes with your meal, I suggest asking for the soda bread instead!!!! We also had some scones and clotted cream, which were equally amazing (probably the best I've tasted). If you're a tea drinker, definitely order a pot of any of the teas they may have at the moment. Definitely which I had the time to visit again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious start to the day...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Decided to try our Greenwoods after searching Tripadvisor and reading the positive reviews. We were first in the door for breakfast so no wait for a table, just for the staff to finish their coffee before menu arrived, order taken, drinks on the table and then a delicious breakfast delivered. There was not one crumb left on a plate - every order was cooked to perfection, from the reasonable portion of Full English, to the light, fluffy and tasty scrambled eggs. Fresh juice was all natural and the coffees were great too.

If you are in the area and looking for somewhere for breakfast, we highly recommend and Greenwoods won't disappoint in terms of taste and quality. Now the tough decision - go back tomorrow again or try somewhere else? Hopefully either choice delivers another delicious start to the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

After a short wait outside we got a table, great fast service. Food was fast to come out, large portions for a good price. Little upset with the nanna meatball being abit dry but other than that i would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.