We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English lunch on Singel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“English lunch on Singel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent food and atmosphere, the location is... romantic and intriguing, what more? You have to try hard to find place, but will be rewarded! The service is friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    238
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Formidable experience! Excellent food and atmosphere!
Excellent Service and nice location, close to the river

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Please wait outside... in the RAIN! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Living within 500 meters of Greenwoods, we've been there many times to enjoy their excellent breakfast. This morning we arrived just when two tables became available. We were informed it would take 5 minutes to prepare a table for us and were asked if we would be kind enough to wait to which we agreed. The waitress returned a moment later to inform us we would have to wait outside... in the pouring rain! Having lived in Amsterdam for many many years, we're accustomed to receiving less than perfect service, this however was particularly rude and completely unexpected from a nice place such as Greenwoods... We won't visit again any time soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“English Tea Room - packed with locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Found this delightful English restaurant by chance as walking from our accommodation on Singel to the Anne Frank House. At 10.00 am it was packed and even turning people away who wanted breakfast. Most eaters seemed to be Dutch.

Despite being short-staffed, service was very friendly, apologetic but fast enough. We both loved the lovely fresh eggs, bacon, smoked salmon etc.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

What a great little find, small cafe with lovely atmosphere and really friendly staff,good menu choice at very good prices,I had the field mushrooms,and hubby had blt both cooked very well and very tasty,be prepared to queue for a table but it's deffo worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.