We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food with a beautiful view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103 | 1012 VG, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food with a beautiful view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This tearoom offers a great menu and top quality meals. I had the eggs benedict with salmon which was delicious and my three friends who all had different meals all enjoyed theirs to. We sat outside by the canal which was beautiful and although the rain started to drizzle the staff were out straight away to put up the giant parasols. It has a great range of tea and is a perfect place to sit and people watch. Kind and helpful staff. Not the cheapest place to eat but certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    213
    39
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had excellent breakfast of fresh orange juice, eggs Benedict with mushrooms on the side plus really nice pot of tea (with tea leaves ) which couldn't be faulted
Our hotel wanted 25 euros each for breakfast & we had all above for 29 euros total in a small cosy restaurant overlooking canal, going back tomorrow for eggs on salmon

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

A nice little place to have a breakfast or brunch.
Perfectly located near a canal. A lot of young people inside. Nice and warm.
Try the club sandwich!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super eggs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just had eggs benedict here with my girlfriend. Fantastic! Worth the wait. Once you are inside fast and friendly service. I like!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in Amsterdam? Probably”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We recently visited Greenwoods after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed.

The place is only small but we managed to get a table and were treated to a really nice cuppa, followed by the best 'Full English' and 'Eggs Royale' we've had in a long time.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.