We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner par excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinkeles

Vinkeles
Keizersgracht 384 | The Dylan Amsterdam, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 5302010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,591 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $99 - $158
Cuisines: French, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vinkeles is housed in an old bakery; which was set up in 1787 by the Regents of the Catholic Church, who at the time owned the building. The bakery flourished until 1811 and guests still can see the original ovens, which were discovered intact during restoration work.Echoing the décor of the hotel, Executive Chef Dennis Kuipers’ menu combines the traditional and the modern. The dishes served in Vinkeles show Kuipers’ love of the contemporary French cuisine. He combines the freshest ingredients to produce a menu that is delicious and unique to Vinkeles. In 2009 restaurant Vinkeles was awarded a Michelin star.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

I had one of the most unforgettable, romantic and delicious dining experiences. Service, surroundings and food were superbe. I can still remember the desert of structures of shrub celery years later.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    23
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely top-level dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Very tasty top-level modern French cuisine. Lots of little tasty goodies served in addition to the tasting menu we ordered. The wagyu was spectacular.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

The restaurant is top quality from the welcome upon arrival until the end of the dinner.
The suggested 5 courses menu with chosen wines was simply superb. The elegance of presenting appetizers while waiting for the starters was only surpassed by the excellent and friendly service by the staff.
A truly memorable experience and strongly recommended - this dinner was truly fantastic. The chefs are simply terrific !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, The Vinkeles Team at Vinkeles, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your most kind review, this is greatly appriciated!

It is a real pleasure to read that you had a marvellous night in Restaurant Vinkeles.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

With warm regards,
The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We enjoyed our last evening in Amsterdam here with a friend who lives in Amsterdam. We had asked her to recommend a really good restaurant and this was more than we expected. The service was outstanding. We had some dietary restrictions that they went out of their way to accommodate. The chef also presented us with delectable treats before and after the meal. The setting is wonderful as well, cozy but not cramped at all.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, The Vinkeles Team at Vinkeles, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to share it here on Tripadvisor!

It is a true pleasure to read about your experience and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our take on your dietary requirements.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again!

Warm wishes,
The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Valentines lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Tried to book dinner but the lady on the phone sold me lunch cause dinner was sold out. Not sorry at all. Unique place , super service. Limited choice if you do not eat pork or shellfish but otherwise superb. The "amuses" are real positive surprises. The starter was tuna tartare the way I never had before. And the sole with truffel as main course was exceptional. Allthough it is not cheap we will return. It was excellent. Great wines by the glass.a real treasure!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, The Vinkeles Team at Vinkeles, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing review and for taking the time to share it here on Tripadvisor.

We love to read that you chose Vinkeles as the restaurant to celebrate Valentine.

It would be our pleasure hosting you again.

Kindest regards,
The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinkeles also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vinkeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinkeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.