We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, setting and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinkeles

Vinkeles
Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 5302010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 2,253 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $99 - $158
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Vinkeles is housed in an old bakery; which was set up in 1787 by the Regents of the Catholic Church, who at the time owned the building. The bakery flourished until 1811 and guests still can see the original ovens, which were discovered intact during restoration work.Echoing the décor of the hotel, Executive Chef Dennis Kuipers’ menu combines the traditional and the modern. The dishes served in Vinkeles show Kuipers’ love of the contemporary French cuisine. He combines the freshest ingredients to produce a menu that is delicious and unique to Vinkeles. In 2009 restaurant Vinkeles was awarded a Michelin star.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food, setting and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Some of the food served here is stunning, including some of the amuse bouches (of which we were served three). And most of it is very creative and original. Excellent and imaginative wine offerings. A wonderful setting in an old bakery, an intimate size and flawless service (from very handsome staff) complete the package. Expensive but much cheaper than the same experience would cost in Paris or London. I plan to eat here on every Amsterdam visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We love to read that you enjoyed every aspect of Restaurant Vinkeles and that you experienced it as creative and original!

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit in Amsterdam!

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    92
    14
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Vinkeles is a very nice restaurant with good food and friendly staff. Restaurant manager Casper was of big help when I booked a table for two with quite short notice, and I'm happy that we spent our first evening in Amsterdam at Vinkeles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you considerate words about Restaurant Vinkeles. We are delighted to read that you were happy that you spend your first evening in Amsterdam at Restaurant Vinkeles.

On behalf of Casper and the Vinkeles Team we are looking forward to welcome you again.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a lovely dinner at Vinkeles. The service was good, as you expect on those restaurants. We started the dinner with a glass of champagne.
The food was great and we had the five course menu with wine and was very happy, both with the food and the wines.
The atmosphere was nice in the beginning, but later on in the evening it became quite noisy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing these considerate words about restaurant Vinkeles. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our service and dinner.

Our apologies for the inconvenience of the noise later in the evening, however we are still hoping to welcome you for a next visit.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Neither meat nor fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I walked in on the wrong day I guess. Vinkeles is known as a top place. Service ignored us because of regular guests(or selebs) and when food came it was cold. I think I need to go again because their reputation is good. Just I experienced their of day

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

My sincere apologies for your disappointing experience in restaurant Vinkeles.
We would like to welcome you back for another visit in which we hopefully will meet your expectations and our reputation.

Could you please send your contact details to sales@dylanamsterdam.com, so we can invite you for a complimentary diner.

On behalf of the Vinkeles Team, we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regstrup, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family evening at Vinkeles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We wanted to share our passion for Gourmet Restaurants with our teenage daugther and her boyfriend and give them the same amazing experience with good quality food and prepared with great love and feeling. We had the full tasting menu for all 4 of us and the wine menu for us 2 adults. After the first 2½ hours of one great dish after another (around half of the tasting menu served) - the two 17 year olds said that the first hour (!) had been very nice and with great food - they couldn't beleive that time passes so quickly when being served by very polite and humourus staff. One of the teenagers didn't want one of the dishes, so the staff very fast suggested, that he could have both desserts instead - very nice option :-). Next day her boyfriend stated, that he obviously wasn't as picky with food as he thought, because some of the fish dishes was he's new favourite food (he doesn't eat fish normally). We can greatly recommend Vinkeles - both for a romantic evening in the very stylish and peacefull restaurant and when sharing a great meal with others. Probably not the best place to take Young children unless they are used to very long meals and enjoying sitting still for many hours :-).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in restaurant Vinkeles with your family.
We are delighted to read that you all enjoyed the dishes and that you liked to way of serving by our staff.

We will be more than happy to welcome you for a next visit.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinkeles also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vinkeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinkeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.