We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinkeles

Vinkeles
Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 5302010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $99 - $158
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Vinkeles is housed in an old bakery; which was set up in 1787 by the Regents of the Catholic Church, who at the time owned the building. The bakery flourished until 1811 and guests still can see the original ovens, which were discovered intact during restoration work.Echoing the décor of the hotel, Executive Chef Dennis Kuipers’ menu combines the traditional and the modern. The dishes served in Vinkeles show Kuipers’ love of the contemporary French cuisine. He combines the freshest ingredients to produce a menu that is delicious and unique to Vinkeles. In 2009 restaurant Vinkeles was awarded a Michelin star.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The food and hospitality at The Vinkeles and The Dylan is superb. We sampled their High Wine offering (much more civilised and lubricating than high tea) and followed this with the tasting menu. The menu was balanced and brilliantly delicious. The gin and tonic jellies and tomato macaron amuse bouche were incredible and a white truffle risotto with a slow cooked egg yolk one of the most amazing and pleasurable things I've ever eaten. We have been back since and the menu was entirely different but no less memorable. The staff are passionate about the food the kitchen produces and the wines and cocktails they serve and (as ever in Amsterdam) their eloquence in English makes one ashamed. Surely the best restaurant in Amsterdam?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is great to read that you had nice experiences with restaurant Vinkeles.
We are delighted that we could provide you with these experiences and we want to thank you for sharing this review. We would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    18
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Epicurean elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Expensive but excellent fine dining experience. Innovative and interesting cooking in a refined, canal side setting. The service was charming and understated. Good advice on the wine, though as with other places we ate in, the mark up is steep. Generally good vibe, plenty of Dutch voices.
We chose a four course menu option. Loads of tasty extras, including amazing nuts and a stand out fresh salmon tartare which would have made a great full dish. The chef knows his flavours and textures. Fancy cooking of a high order.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you had such a excellent fine dining experience in Vinkeles
and you enjoyed the four course menu. We would like to thank you for your visit and
for these kind words.

We are happy to welcome you for a next time.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A symphony of brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you have a love for food, have expectations of top class service and are in search of something special, this is definitely the place to go in Amsterdam. We dined here 15th February and this was nothing short of spectacular. The food was amazing and elevated more with perfect wine pairings, in addition to this the perfectly pitched service with great stories about our meal paired with the beautiful surroundings made this the perfect meal. Thank you guys it was truly amazing, a fabulous end to our stay in the city. We did forget to ask you about the olive oil before we left and would appreciate the name of it. Thanks again, see you on our next visit. John and maura. Do not miss this place if you are in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

It gives us great motivation to read this review.
We are happy that you enjoyed our food wine pairings and we would like to
thank you for your lovely words about restaurant Vinkeles. Regarding the
name of the olive oil, it is called 'San Mauro BiCultivar' Olio Extravergine.
We are looking forward to welcome you for a next time.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Tried the signature menu and have been impressed with excellent food, wine harmonization and impeccable service. A very nice restaurant for special occasions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about restaurant Vinkeles.
It delights us to read that you had such a great experience.

We are happy to welcome you for a next time.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, impeccable service, perfect ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked a table at Vinkeles for Christmas Day.I cannot do the food and wine justice by describing them. So I would like to thank Caspar and his staff for making the experience so special.
I recommend this restaurant to all those who love fantastic food and we look forward to the next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful words about restaurant Vinkeles.
It is great to read that you had such a great experience at Vinkeles during Christmas.

Casper and the Vinkeles Team are looking forward to welcome you for a next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinkeles also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vinkeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinkeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.