We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves every Michelin star it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinkeles

Vinkeles
Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 5302010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 2,251 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $99 - $158
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Vinkeles is housed in an old bakery; which was set up in 1787 by the Regents of the Catholic Church, who at the time owned the building. The bakery flourished until 1811 and guests still can see the original ovens, which were discovered intact during restoration work.Echoing the décor of the hotel, Executive Chef Dennis Kuipers’ menu combines the traditional and the modern. The dishes served in Vinkeles show Kuipers’ love of the contemporary French cuisine. He combines the freshest ingredients to produce a menu that is delicious and unique to Vinkeles. In 2009 restaurant Vinkeles was awarded a Michelin star.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Deserves every Michelin star it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Book this restaurant in advance and also get the 7-course dinner. The chef's skills are amazing and it was one of the best dinners we had on our trip. We drank champagne with dinner, but the balance and taste is second to none. Save room for desert even if you don't get the tasting menu because the truffles pre-desert leave you wanting more!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad that you have enjoyed our 7-course menu and we will be happy to welcome you again.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    92
    14
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rural Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Second Star on Horizon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a remarkable dinner at Vinkeles Restaurant in Amsterdam, a Michelin One Star establishment, which, from our experience, is light a Star. . . We had the five course tasting menu with an added and wonderful cheese plate. Seafood was the star of the show: an amuse bouche of tuna tartare with wasabi ice cream (!), velvety raw herring in creme fraiche, a sensational turbot with octopus and tiny shrimp and heavenly smoked eel with tiny crisp puffed onions and vegetables. My wife's pigeon was spectacular - breast, loin, legs and heart-and my beef was smoky, fork-tender and delicious in an understated mustard sauce. We both had the apricot and white currant dessert, a tiny still life on a delicious base of dried fruit and nuts and a champagne ice. The service was warm, gracious and professional. In all, Michelin will soon revisit, see the error of their ways and upgrade this place to the Two Stars it deserves. Do not miss!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great compliment about our restaurant. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our five course tasting menu.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant, better than average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful dinning room in a well appointed and well looked after hotel. We ate at the brasserie as the main restaurant was under repair.
The suggestion of the day was a little bizarre, and in my taste heavy for a summer dinner: eggs benedict and a crispy duck noodle soup, so I opted for a salad and the soup. The salad came in a glass, the lettuce was delicious, young green beans in julienne and other crudités all very good and perfectly dressed. The noodle soup with cripsy duck was truly mouthwatering, favourful, light and delicious. The rest of the party had the gazpacho (very good) the beef (correct) and the fish (plaice, good). The waiter was kind and showed us the main restaurant which is lodged in the ground/lower floor of what used to be an Alms House, with the old baking brick ovens and floors recovered as decorative features.
Service was kind and very personable, however our experience over three days in Amsterdam in various restaurants has been that overall service is slowish and not as attentive at table as one woud expect. Perhaps this is because August is high season and it is a little more stretched.
A beautiful hotel and dinning room and I would be happy to return and to recomend Vinkeles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your dining experiences at Brasserie OCCO.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our new Brasserie.

We are looking forward welcoming you next time around.

Kind regards,

The Dylan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were staying at the Dylan and booked here for dinner.
We chose the tasting menu with matching wines.
The service was superb - the Maitre d was charming, as were all the staff. The attention to detail was excellent and the surroundings of the restaurant in the old bakery at the back of the Dylan hotel was a beautiful setting.
The food quality was superb. Each course was beautifully presented and the flavours were fantastic. The sommelier matched wines were different and delicious (and very generously poured!).
All in all, one of the best michelin starred meals I've had - not only for the food, but for the relaxed but professional ambiance that made the whole experience special.
I hope to be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your dining experiences at Restaurant Vinkeles.

We loved being part of your gastronomical night out.

Also on behalf of our Maitre d we would be honored to see you next time around.

Kind regards,

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gourmet Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I reckoned this Michelin star restaurant would be a little pretentious but it was not. All the servers were polite, the room was gorgeous and the food , WOW, what can I say. First the amuses bouches, tuna tartare, a little frozen ball of gin, tonic and oyster brine served on an oyster shell and the most crumbly and delicious breads. We both ordered half orders and it was more than enough. Priscilla had a scampi/langoustine first course which she is still dreaming about. I had the "Dutch Salmon" which was herring in a sour cream sauce. (I LOVE herring) which literally melted in your mouth. For our mains, Priscilla had the pigeon and I had the turbot in a delectable foamy sauce. Paired with an Austrian Rose (accent), this was heaven. To finish, we sahred the cheese which was a selection of about 10 cheeses including a creamy stinky (which is a good thing) swiss brie, a grape encrusted piemonte etc. etc. The waiter said if we wanted more, no problem. and so it was. Extra glass of Rose at no charge and chocolate ravioli to finish. Final tally about 195 Euros. Need I say more?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at Vinkeles.
It is much appriciated that you share, in detail, your personal experience.

We are looking forward welcoming you next time.

Kind regards,

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinkeles also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Vinkeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinkeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.