We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmicitiA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AmicitiA to your Saves list
AmicitiA
Oosterdok, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly owners, basic rooms but clean, functional & compact. Great relaxed atmosphere throughout the boat and really nice views of Amsterdam from the river. Location is good too. For the money we paid it was excellent value.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here as a group of 7, so needed somewhere cheap and convenient for 1 night. This was it.

Rooms very small, purely a bunk, and I can imagine they would get quite warm with 2 of you (I was riding solo) A couple of loos to share for the boat.

Breakfast, simple continental yet fine for what we needed. Bread, cheese, ham etc.

The view across the harbour over breakfast was simply stunning, as were the views around the boat in general.

We struggled to find it at first, but a quick phone call soon sorted that. They left the key for us as we arrived late which was helpful.

Walking distance to main Amsterdam & train station - not that we ended seeing too much of it!

Ideal for an overnight stay, not much more.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights December 20th to the 23rd, didn't know what to expect but loved it, and will go back. very friendly staff, ideal location, its a got to do for anyone that's never stayed on one of these, was my first time and it wont be my last

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The AmicitiA provided a little taste of what houseboat living might be like. We stayed for three nights. Yes, the rooms are small (extremely). Our two-person room had a bunk bed, sink, closet, and a simple chair - with little floor space to spare. If you are near or taller than 6’, chances are, you will sleep with bended knees. The common (dining) area, provided ample room to relax, and a “million dollar” view. We were there in late November, the weather was cold, but the wood paneled, large windowed, sitting area provide a warm and cozy retreat.

Getting to the lower level, where the rooms and showers are, involves descending a harrowing, near vertical, stair/ladder (stadder?) - at least it’s only a few steps, and there is railing. The showers backed up, but I was told that they were soon to be remodeled.

The breakfast was great - cheeses, deli meats, bread, spreads, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea... and again, it featured that wonderful view (swan included).

The staff were friendly, and they kept boat tidy.

It’s close to the train station, which I liked - especially, when we had to catch an early morning train to the airport.

OK, the rooms are tight - I can’t imagine sharing one with three, but Amsterdam is too good to be holed-up in your room all day. Walk around, wear yourself out, sleep well.

Oh yeah - the AmicitiA is an excellent value and a neat experience.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view of the water, rather than the dock. The porthole provides the effect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

No matter what any of these reviews say, you will want to experience spending a night on a little boat in the Amsterdam harbour right? The idea of it is just too novel to miss. That being said, be sure to keep in mind that the notion of being on a boat is more romantic while laughing affectionately during your introduction to your cramped cabin and over breakfast while surrounded by windows and a view of the water and coastline. However, the speciality environment aside, a cheap hotel offers a utility by providing two essentials while away from home: a place to keep your luggage, and a place to sleep. The Amicitia's shortcoming is what it offers for the latter. If you are a light sleeper, I advise you to stay on land. 17 rooms is quite a few to squeeze onto a small boat. Her walls are thin and there is simply no way to close the doors quietly. At night, while comically crammed onto the bottom bunk (by our own choice), my girlfriend and I were able to hear every move on board for what seemed like all night. Not even the soft blanket of inebriation could keep the footsteps above and the slamming doors below out of our dreams. We woke up to the sound of hair dryers and an entire conversation from the couple next door who sounded so close they could have been on the top bunk.
The owners were laid-back and let us check in early, the premises kept spotless, and the dining room was a relaxing place to start the day.
So, in short.....do yourself a favour and bring some earplugs. And if you happen to take part in Amsterdam's herbal offerings, take some top deck and watch the sunset or something. You salty sea dogs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The novelty of being on a boat in Amsterdam is not to be missed! This is a great option for those on a budget. You won't get much cheaper than this and you don't have share a dorm room!

There are a few pros and cons though:

Pros
-Great breakfast
-Private room with basin, very clean
-Very good price
-Easy going, friendly staff
-Lovely upper deck with a great view of amsterdam

Cons
-With boats, they can be a bit smelly, make sure you ask for a room away from the toilets
-Rooms are very small and the pillows are like rocks
-My shower was flooded
-Noise can be an issue with the thin walls. While there is not much actual noise, people walking on the floor above is quite loud.
-Not much ventilation so in summer I imagine it is very hot in the rooms!
-Not very close to anything. It's atleast a 15min walk to the touristy areas

I'd recommend this for two friends visiting Amsterdam for the weekend. Its a great experience and ten times better than being in a dorm for a similar price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the boat where there aren't any toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the hostel first week of September and could not have found it any better. We were greeted warmly the first night there and offered a different room for the rest of our stay (with better views) without us even having to ask! Rooms are small yes but to be honest we were never in them, spent most of the time chatting to Merel, Dave, Annie and other guests upstairs. Made to feel very much at home our whole trip and they even threw in a FREE boat trip round the canals at night (or whenever you want.) Top marks for Merel as a hostess she did a great job and Dave and Annie on the avanti boat are good craic too (go and see his hamster)
We will 100% be back

Room Tip: rooms on the far side have the best view, woken up to flocks of ducks every morning, bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmicitiA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmicitiA

Address: Oosterdok, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your AmicitiA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Boat Friesland
b&b Boat Friesland Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmicitiA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.