We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good novelty exeprience on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmicitiA

Save Saved
You added AmicitiA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AmicitiA
Oosterdok, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good novelty exeprience on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The novelty of being on a boat in Amsterdam is not to be missed! This is a great option for those on a budget. You won't get much cheaper than this and you don't have share a dorm room!

There are a few pros and cons though:

Pros
-Great breakfast
-Private room with basin, very clean
-Very good price
-Easy going, friendly staff
-Lovely upper deck with a great view of amsterdam

Cons
-With boats, they can be a bit smelly, make sure you ask for a room away from the toilets
-Rooms are very small and the pillows are like rocks
-My shower was flooded
-Noise can be an issue with the thin walls. While there is not much actual noise, people walking on the floor above is quite loud.
-Not much ventilation so in summer I imagine it is very hot in the rooms!
-Not very close to anything. It's atleast a 15min walk to the touristy areas

I'd recommend this for two friends visiting Amsterdam for the weekend. Its a great experience and ten times better than being in a dorm for a similar price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the boat where there aren't any toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the hostel first week of September and could not have found it any better. We were greeted warmly the first night there and offered a different room for the rest of our stay (with better views) without us even having to ask! Rooms are small yes but to be honest we were never in them, spent most of the time chatting to Merel, Dave, Annie and other guests upstairs. Made to feel very much at home our whole trip and they even threw in a FREE boat trip round the canals at night (or whenever you want.) Top marks for Merel as a hostess she did a great job and Dave and Annie on the avanti boat are good craic too (go and see his hamster)
We will 100% be back

Room Tip: rooms on the far side have the best view, woken up to flocks of ducks every morning, bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went on a 12 day euro trip visiting four countries with 2 other friends....

The bad - can only use the showers at certain times of the day, REALLY SMALL rooms (I felt pretty clusterphobic with 3 people in total in our room), the soap ran out on our last night and none of the owners replaced it, the rooms were terribly hot at night, the breakfast sucks

The good - owners were really friendly and nice and gave great directions to anywhere we wanted to go, the hostel dog was so cute!, great view from the main dining area of amsterdam

I don't know how much other places cost in Amsterdam...but I would fork over more money to be in a more comfortable place. The rooms were just too small and stuffy. Maybe would've been good for 2 ppl.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

It was new and interesting to sleep on a boat, but overall I found the hostel to be below average compared to others I have stayed in.

Receptionist: friendly and helpful.

Room: tiny best describes them. The room periodically smelt of sewage, when a toilet was flushed. In fact the toilets and showers all smelt of sewage. Also very thin walls, so earplugs are a good idea.
Breakfast: simple toast and cereal, but ok.
Location: Good. You can walk to everything from here.
Atmosphere: little to none.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel boat was great. The view of Amsterdam is amazing. It is also about a 10 minute walk from the city center, which makes sightseeing easy and convenient. The breakfast is good and the staff is wonderful. One of the gentlemen even got us dinner reservations at one of the local restaurants.

The rooms are somewhat small and there is a shared shower. Everything is clean and the staff is accommodating. Plus, you get to stay on a house-boat in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed here for 1 night but it was the nicest place ive stayed. Its really close to the station and the views surrounding it on a night are beautiful! The woman we saw called mureal was really nice and friendly and chilled out. She also showed us some of the best places to go which was helpful! The rooms were small but it wasnt a problem you could still get changed and have a wash etc. The place was very clean and we had no complaints on hygine. There was a really nice breakfast in the morning too and sitting outside on a night with a drink and a smoke was bliss....definatly going to stay here everytime I come again no matter what my budget. Addorable place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It is cheap and good quality-price comparing with the rest of hotels in Amsterdam. However, if you don't want to walk 20-30 min to reach the city centre, don't choose the hotel. Moreover, it's not difficult to get lost to find it.
The blond girl in the reception is kind, warm and very friendly. She'll try to make your stay comfortable, despite of the tiny rooms you'll have to sleep. Be careful with the stairs as well, but this is Amsterdam.
However, I want to put emphasis on the good quality-price and the good service (and great breakfast, which was included). I don't know if I'll come back but I recommend it to rucksack travellers who want to live a different experience in a boat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmicitiA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmicitiA

Address: Oosterdok, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your AmicitiA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Boat Friesland Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Boat Friesland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmicitiA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.