We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its alright...basic and clean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel 83 Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Its alright...basic and clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Nice central location. Clean rooms. Towels changed everyday. You can have your room cleaned everyday if you want. Shared toilets and shower but only between two rooms so thats alright. Very basic rooms.

Breakfast food was alright. Scrambled and boiled eggs, mini frankfurters, bread, jams, butter, cold meats, cheese, orange juice, coffee, tea. Everyday.

Room Tip: Get a hotel in the center of town and walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    41
    13
    13
See reviews for
11
50
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for two nights last week...the staff were very friendly. The hotel is in a great location for most things, the museums were probably the furthest away and took about 20 mins to walk there...there are plenty of public transport options though if you don't fancy the walk. The rooms were nothing fancy but great for somewhere to sleep/chill especially since they have free Wifi (which seems to be the norm in Amsterdam). I would recommend this hotel for singles and couples wanting somewhere cheap to stay and not expecting anything too fancy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

perfect location just 5-10 mins walk to everywere you want to go in the middle of the redlight district so busy noisy good atmosphere hotel is easy to find espically at the moment with the scaffolding for renovations used this many times when i was lost arrive nice little reception were they buzz you through you arrive to some steep steps luckily i was on the first floor room 103 i asked for a smoking room no ashtray i asked the bloke is this a smoking room he said you can out the window ( i found fire alarms crap so no worry sitting inside with window open ) big spacious room clean double bed 2 desks one abit tatty buti dont care and a big toilet and shower and bath never made breakfast just went straight out staff freindly polite overall very happy for the price oh may i add no view from windows just other buildings but i was not there to stare out the window

Room Tip: room 103 clean big spacious smoking out the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel has nothing special, but it's location absolutely in middle of the Red Light Disctrict is really good. We stayed on the top floor and the steps were though. The room was absolutely simple just like the breakfeast. The staff wasn't the most polite and proactive I've ever seen. It is a cheap choice, so don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located in the heart of the Red Light District. In terms of comfort is debatable - narrow, steep stairs, no elevator, very Spartan rooms - simple single beds, an ascetic bathroom and no TV, but it's offset the location, friendliness of the Dutch staff, attitude, spicy ambience and view from the window. And as a bonus, especially on Fridays - rowdy walking round under windows))

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a good deal. I stayed in a room facing the front of the hotel with 4 single beds. The rooms could use some serious remodeling. We had to use a piece of wood to keep the window open. But, we did not plan on being in the room much so it wasn't a very big concern. The breakfast looked terrifying but not too far away was this great place called Renee's croissants, which I highly recommend. The hotel is close to the train station and in the middle of the red light district. It's reasonably priced so I would recommend it for younger people, just know that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. Good bathroom, plenty hot water.
Our room was on the top floor and stairs are quite steep, would not recommend to people with any physical disability.

Located in the heart of the red light district, great if you looking to party, not great if you looking for peace.

Staff very laid back compared to other hotels, but still friendly and helpful.

All in all, an average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 83 Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.