We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel to know from inside Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 83 Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Москва
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A hotel to know from inside Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located in the heart of the Red Light District. In terms of comfort is debatable - narrow, steep stairs, no elevator, very Spartan rooms - simple single beds, an ascetic bathroom and no TV, but it's offset the location, friendliness of the Dutch staff, attitude, spicy ambience and view from the window. And as a bonus, especially on Fridays - rowdy walking round under windows))

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    62
    57
    20
    18
See reviews for
14
63
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a good deal. I stayed in a room facing the front of the hotel with 4 single beds. The rooms could use some serious remodeling. We had to use a piece of wood to keep the window open. But, we did not plan on being in the room much so it wasn't a very big concern. The breakfast looked terrifying but not too far away was this great place called Renee's croissants, which I highly recommend. The hotel is close to the train station and in the middle of the red light district. It's reasonably priced so I would recommend it for younger people, just know that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. Good bathroom, plenty hot water.
Our room was on the top floor and stairs are quite steep, would not recommend to people with any physical disability.

Located in the heart of the red light district, great if you looking to party, not great if you looking for peace.

Staff very laid back compared to other hotels, but still friendly and helpful.

All in all, an average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked a room for 5 which had its own wet room and toilet. There was also a toilet right outside the room which was handy. Breakfast is continental, cereal etc. For Amsterdam and the price we paid it was great. Right in the middle of RLD. Our room was at the back so really quiet. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had nothing really going for this hotel except its location in the RLD. I was given a multi-occupancy room drably furnished in 1970's décor and 6 beds. I'm thinking to myself I'm in a disco porn movie set all alone! At least there was plenty of space on this top floor room. It was noisy from the street action below, but, I had expected that it would be. The large white fully tiled bathroom looked clinical and sinister like something from a horror movie. It was clean and cold.
The stairs were steep. The reception and dining area was smoke filled at times from tobacco cigarettes.
Staff seemed disinterested but were dutiful at times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over August and stayed for 3 nights costing 80 euro which I found reasonable in comparison with other hotels nearby. We checked in and there were no issues with the room, during the evenings I didn't seem to hear much noise, the beds were comfy and had our own bathroom which was a wet room, the showers were good but I was not a fan of the wetroom. I Found the staff slightly rude at times and the free breakfast was rather poor but overall good value for money would probably stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is far from a 4 or 5 star resort, but if you a looking for an affordable room, in the heart of Amsterdam Central, this is your place. The people there were nice and friendly. SUper helpful, but it was smokey. And the stairs are brutal. it was a place for us to crash while we enjoyed everything Amsterdam had to offer. I had a great time overall.

Room Tip: we chose a 2 person room, it was on the top floor. Taking the stairs up sucked, but we had our own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 83 Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.