We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap or cheerful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 83 Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not cheap or cheerful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is ideally located as it is only a 5 minute walk from Centraal Train Station and is situated in the red light district in quite a picturesque setting with pleasant views.
The hotel is three storeys high with no lift facility and the stairways are very steep so not suitable for the less fit or agile travellers.
The rooms are very basic, literally just beds, dressing table and wardrobe.
There is no TV, no safe, no coffee/tea facilities.
Upon arrival we found our bedding, towels and bathroom to be clean but the floor had not been vacummed and there was the deodrant can of the previous occupant on the window sill.
During our 3-night stay the maid came in daily and left fresh towls and emptied our bin but that was all. Our beds were never made nor was the room vacummed etc.
AS the hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms the was always a strong smell of tobacco and of course (given its location) cannabis.
The staff were reasonably friendly and helpful.
There are breakfast facilites but we never dined as chose to eat out.
We paid 83 euros a night between two which I think is expensive for what it is.
I do not recommend this hotel on the basis that it was not clean, has a disinctive lack of facilities and is pricey in comparison to other hotels that are available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    47
    15
    13
See reviews for
11
57
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

When you goto Amsterdam, you don't look for a classy hotels. You just need a room in the centre of the city. And that's where Hotel 83 is located. In the middle of everything. Fantastic location just in the middle of the red light district. It is run by a very friendly family: a father and two sons. The old man is a soul of the party who also owns the pub next to the hotel. If you decide to drive there, there's a parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Brilliant hotel for the view, the room and the staff. Literally right on the district, your room glows red its that close haha. Been to a few hotels in the Dam and this one was perfect, got to know the staff and they were a great laugh. Definitely be staying here again :) The only drawbacks for us was the key that we had to constantly be left back everytime you left and the stairs were deadly to get up but then again we spent so much time in coffeeshops and bars so this is probably why it was hard to keep track of the key and hike the stairs haha

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel 83 is in a perfect location right in the middle of everywhere that you want to go and see! We done a lot of walking on this trip so it was nice that we didn't have to walk too far to get to where we wanted to!

We were all really impressed by the room which catered for 6 six people, rooms were massive and beds were really comfy too! Everything was clean and tidy.

Only tiny downfall was the breakfast...just plain old scrabmled eggs and tiny sausages when I say sausages I mean the tinned kind! (no toast)! Staff were friendly and helpful they gave us everything we asked for :) accommodation was ideal. Would definately stay here again!

xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is not just a simple good old "bad hotel". It is much worse. it is actually a parody on the term "bad hotel". The owners seem to have taken everything that is bad in hotels industry, and tried to have done it worse in a very creative way.

First, there is the attitude. An unshaved individual (I think it was a man), was grumpy when I arrived and gave the constant impression that I am bothering him. Other service people were similarly innovative in finding ways of expressing their grumpiness.

But who cares about service, when you check out the facilities.

1. To reach the room you need to climb a staircase which is more like a ladder. It is narrow, very steep, and truly dangerous. I scared to fall to death while climbing it with my suitcase.

2. The room was awful, dirty, and shabby.

3. Unlike what I was promised, there was no shower no bathroom in the room. Instead, there was a corridor shower, just next to my door. Whenever there anyone used either the shower or the bathroom, I was awakened. I did not shower this day!!!

4. The room had no phone to call the front desk.

5. I have run out words to describe breakfast. I simply gave up on it. I think many did the same.

6, To make up for all of these, the price was around 120 EURO, truly expensive!

In summary, don't go there unless you are simultaneously rich, stupid and masochistic.

Room Tip: Don't go there! It is a disgrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

very good for a young group. But I would not take my family or girlfriend.
I have visited amsterdam several times, making the mistake of staying in an expensive hotel on the outskirts the first time. I have stayed in hotel 83 twice now and it has been very good given the price and location as It is central and not far from the train station.
The rooms are good, decent shower/wet rooms. always somebody at reception and they are always helpful. They offer breakfast but were not really prepared for a pack of hungry lads, not bad for a quick bite and a coffee. They have bikes to rent also.

Room Tip: If your travelling in with a young group ask to stay in the top room with the balcony overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 83 Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.